We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & service”
Review of Garden of India - CLOSED

Garden of India
Price range: $21 - $31
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
northwest
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Recently ate here with a few friends. From the moment we walked in we were greeted with smiles and a warm welcome. Food was superb, drinks reasonable and the service was super. Can recommend for a meal with partner, work folks or mates. Well done!

    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank petecraggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    4
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Went with my partner on Sunday evening - very polite and accommodating staff
What we wanted wasn't on the menu however they were more than happy to cook it for us -
Lovely food
Loveky authentic restaurant
Lovely helpful staff
Food was beautiful
Will definitely be back - worth traveller 25 miles for

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayneyFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Very well looked after and definitely will be going again soon! service and food was good quality

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This has to be the best Indian restaurant in the town. We have eaten here for what seems like forever (and use it on Just Eat for takeaway). The food and service cannot be faulted. Please, if you eat here, don't stick to the tried and tested madras, dansak etc, go for the venison, duck or fish....marvellous!. Ali and the team as always are attentive without being obtrusive. Go on, you know you want to!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Much improved!”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This was our third visit in roughly three years. We have never had a complaint about the food at the Garden of India but the service, on our prior visit, was lacking. I'm pleased to say that the restaurant seems to ironed out these problems. Our recent visit was complimented by excellent and attentive service without being overbearing. The food and portion sizes were excellent, though not cheap.

The Garden of India - back to its best!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bippoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden of India also viewed

Ingleton, Darlington
Bishopton, Darlington
 
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
Darlington, County Durham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing