We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The County

The County
Ranked #25 of 266 Restaurants in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Sunday lunch - simply one of the best we've enjoyed in this area. As we browsed our menus the waitress brought a bottle of chilled water for us unprompted - great start. After we'd made our choices we were brought a very nice selection of home baked bread and butter. Our party ordered main meals of Roast beef and Roast chicken fillet. The waitress explained that the beef was a slow roasted cut of topside - and it was delicious. There was plenty of it too. The large chicken fillet was plump, moist and tasty. Vegetables were perfectly cooked - firm but not too hard. The gravy was full of flavour. The dining room was pleasant with plenty of room between tables and the seating was beautifully upholstered and comfortable. Waiting staff were attentive. We will definitely be back for Sunday lunch in the future and will probably return to try the evening menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    42
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North east
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Family meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went on a Friday evening as a party of 8, a little concerned by a few comments about service and portion size. Although the restaurant was very busy I need not have been concerned. The food was very good, even if the menu was a little limited. The addition of the specials board helped. The service was also good. The bill at £335 (inc. drinks but not tips) wasn't "cheep" but all considered not bad value for money. I would not recommend it as a venue for couples, certainly not for a romantic meal. Will be happy to try again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lionwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Searrced for some where to have sunday lunch as we have been to a few places we would not return to just lately-----so we typed in Newton Aycliffe seeing as we were going there around lunch time and The County at Aycliffe village grabbed our attention so we booked a table and had sundaylunch at one pm-----and we were not disapointed with our visit.
I had to think of something to recommend on their questionaire and the only minor thing I could think of was that the yorshire puds even though nice were a bit floppy rather than crispy----I know it sounds like nit picking buts thats our opinion of a meal that was otherwise spot on and we will return

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank madaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
309 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We popped in for a quick evening meal whilst travelling south on the A1. Although only a few minutes from the busy road, The County sits in a quiet position overlooking the village green. There were plenty of interesting dishes to tempt us on the menu and in the end we were very happy with the choices of the haddock cassoulet and the venison. The only drawback was the small tables for the outdoor eating. Dogs are not allowed indoors and the terrace at the front is quite small.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WalkwiththeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“As good as anything in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Never been disappointed as there is always a menu based on local produce and seasonal variations. Nice selection of drinks, both on the wine list and real ales from the bar. Specials on the board complement the usual dishes, but often tend to go 'off' as they are always interesting and good value. We take friends and relations there who have remarked that it is as good as anything in London (but half the price!), just make sure you phone ahead to book a table as it can be ery full on a weekend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JRMaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The County also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing