We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful little boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Houndgate Townhouse
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful little boutique hotel”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The Houndstreet Townhouse was a very pleasant surprise. We came for a wedding and it was booked for us, so I had no expectations.Turns out it's a real gem-a Georgian townhouse very tasteful done to high specs with charming, obliging staff. The breakfast was excellent : great produce, well presented and perfectly cooked. It was also one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, to the point that I took down the name of the mattress and bed linen! Miller Harris bath products, fluffy towel robes ....what's not to like ? For £90 a night it was a bargain -I'd come back and use it as a base for exploring the area

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tib32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the finishing touches such as the Miller Harris bath products in your rooms and also the quality of the breakfast and service provided. Our very comfy mattresses are made a company based in Cumbria called Sealy. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    38
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
91
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hotel was very nice and good service. Food was excellent. Nice to see how the Naturalstone which originally came from our factory ended up in beautiful table tops processed by our client F. Jones. The only negative was no parking place, but for the rest was absolutely perfect. Definitely to taste the food!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGS-karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieSkelton, General Manager at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel (and tables!). With regards to the parking issue, unfortunately it's a problem that many town and city centre hotels have to contend with. However, there is a large public car park situated behind the hotel which is free in the evenings and available at a reduced charge on weekends.
I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again in future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed over Monday 2nd December.
My friend booked us in this brand new hotel for the night.
So pleased that she did what a gem of a place, the only way to describe it is lovely everything was just perfect.
The staff were great and the night receptionist / barman Jonathan had lots of skills and Even more
Patience putting up with us all until the early hours.
Breakfast served with a smile and very good too.
If you are in the area try you won't regret it .

Room Tip: We had room on 3rd floor but I'm sure they will all be of the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kass85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieSkelton, General Manager at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the rest of the team and I hope that you will visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Small, smart boutique hotel. Newly opened with just a few teething problems.
Lovely bar and restaurant area.
Beautiful room, with lots of extras: dressing gowns, slippers, shaving accessories, toothbrush and toothpaste, sewing kit and so on.
All food freshly made and beautiful, substantial portions.
Downside:
No vegetarian evening main course option
Waitresses had little knowledge of the dinner menu
No tea or caffe making facilities in the room
Breakfast offered the smallest bottle of juice and only allowed 1 as part of the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieSkelton, General Manager at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I'm sorry if you felt that some aspects of your visit were not up to standard and I will certainly work hard to address the problems you have highlighted. As you mentioned, there are a few teething problems, which is true of any new business, but I am pleased that you have brought it to our attention as it is feedback such as yours which helps us to improve on the service we offer. We have now introduced a vegetarian dinner menu and training is ongoing with regards to our staff's product knowledge. I hope that the small issues that you encountered during your initial visit will not deter you from visiting us again in future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Houndgate and had a fabulous stay!! (a good recommendation) The food was amazing and the room was unique and full of character. The bed was so comfy and the large standalone tub was a great experience. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay - we will be back xxxx

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the standalone tub- amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachx28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieSkelton, General Manager at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and I will certainly pass your comments on to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice new hotel , stayed on a Monday night and despite being the only guest the staff were very attentive and the food was amazing . Very warm and friendly welcome . Would highly recommend staying and next time I am in Darlington I will definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelerted1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieSkelton, General Manager at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for the kind feedback from your recent visit. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, would highly recommend! Thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. Also went to the restaurant which serves delicious food. Staff are very attentive and couldn't do more to look after us. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Justine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieSkelton, General Manager at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! I will be sure to pass your comments on to the rest of the time and we will hopefully see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
0.9 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.1 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,529 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houndgate Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houndgate Townhouse

Property: Houndgate Townhouse
Address: 11 Houndgate, Darlington DL1 5RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Houndgate Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eight-bedroom design hotel, restaurant and bar in the heart of Darlington. This Grade II-listed Georgian Townhouse has been sympathetically restored to its former glory. All eight rooms have en-suite bathrooms, HD TV's and Temple Spa toiletries. Eat at the restaurant, 'eleven', enjoy a cocktail or glass of wine in the hound bar & lounge or simply choose to relax in the comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Houndgate Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing