We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money and meal deals good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
north east
Level Contributor
314 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Very good value for money and meal deals good”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Do not listen to the negative reviews. The place is good value for money and the setting is very pleasant. Buy a bottle of wine it's the best value for money.the food is good and there is plenty of choice

Room Tip: Telephone and book beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smugglenortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear smugglenortheast
Thank you for your positive feedback and reassurance to other travellers to stay with us. We endeavour to offer high quality accommodation, food & beverage and customer service whilst still maintaining great value; and I am delighted that this is what you experienced.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.
Kind regards
Lucy Readshaw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    269
    114
    46
    29
See reviews for
150
307
32
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Lovely relaxed atmosphere for our family wedding celebrations. Staff could not have done more for us. Delicious food, excellent service and welcoming staff. We would be very happy to use the hotel again for family gatherings - guests felt well looked after. Could not find fault - looking forward to more celebrations there in the years to come. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear kathleen d
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your experience with us during your family wedding. Your comments regarding the standard of service, quality of food and welcoming staff are especially nice to read and I will share with these with team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel for other family celebrations.
Kind regards
Lucy Readshaw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were sadly disappointed with the bridal suite. The room is in need of an up date and is over priced because of this. The staff were great; but, there was nothing waiting for us in our room which was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Maria B
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay in the Bridal Suite. I am surprised that you were disappointed with the room as this suite usually receives fantastic feedback from newly married couples and other guests staying with us and remains one of our most popular suites to stay in.
We have no record of being told that you were celebrating your wedding night and consequently, we could not help you celebrate in style by dressing the suite with our usual complementary wedding night extras
Kind regards
Lucy Readshaw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for 1 night. It is in a great location, only a couple of mins walk from the centre. At £70 for bed & breakfast you cannot fault.
The only criticism is the price of the drink may £10.85 for a white wine & soda & a pint of Guinness seems a bit steep.
I would stop her again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johnsupport1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Johnsupport 1969
Thank you for posting your review and for your positive comments in regard to your stay. I am pleased you found the hotel 'value for money' as do most travellers. In regard to your critism for the drink pricing I can only assume that you chose our 'largest premium' glass of wine as a 'standard wine' and soda and pint of Guiness retails at only £8.90. I am however pleased to hear that you would stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards
Scott Davidson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

A nice hotel with a relaxt atmosphere. Room was nice and clean and the food was perfect(the lamb). Very helpfull staff and good service. Easy to find. It is an old hotel but it is what I could see well maintained and in fine shape. Located close to the city center but still in a quiet area.If I come back to Darlington I for sure will stay there again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear golfturist
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and such a postive one, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I am delighted also to read that you would return and that you found the hotel value for money, a comment mentioned by many travellers. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards
Scott Davidson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed for 1night as visiting our office in the area. Clean and tidy. Room was nice if a little warm (no aircon) but fan provided. Bed was two singles put together but ok, bathroom ok shower very powerful. Had room service dinner delivered which was quick and food good. Would I return...yes

Room Tip: Hotel in Darlington town ok if that's what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrol1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear petrol1967
Thank you for writing a positive review on our hotel, we are all pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that if you were to return to Darlington that you would certainly stay again. We pride ourselves on repeat business and thank you for recommending us to future travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Scott Davidson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed overnight whilst attending a wedding nearby and had a very enjoyable stay. Room was faultless, very clean and comfortable. All the staff were very polite and extremely helpfull. Breakfast was very nice and the restaurant was lovely, My only negative was some of the corridoors leading to the room were a bit tatty but overall it was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurleynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, General Manager at The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Hurleynight
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review on our hotel, I am delighted that everythig was to your liking and that you enjoyed our high standards of hospitality throughout. We are currently refreshing public areas ongoing by priority and hope to resolve your 'only negative' very soon. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Scott Davidson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darlington
0.7 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
763 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,446 reviews
6.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington

Property: The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Address: Southend Avenue, Darlington DL3 7HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Darlington
#3 Family Hotel in Darlington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a unique blend of luxury accommodation, great service and fine dining with Bannatyne Hotel Darlington. Perfect for business and leisure. Each of our well appointed rooms have FREE wireless internet access and Maxine's Bar & Restaurant makes the perfect venue for meeting friends for coffee, drinks and fine food. Also whether hosting a business meeting or an exhibition, or even getting married, Bannatyne Hotel Darlington is the ideal venue to make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darlington Bannatyne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing