We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here for central Darlington and swimming pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay here for central Darlington and swimming pool”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just stayed one night on business - perfect location with easy walk to conference venue The Dolphin. This also happens to be Darlington's public swimming pool so I was able to take a pre-breakfast swim there - it opens at 6:30am and is as close as some country house hotel pools!

Service, room and staff were also fine. Only minor problem could have been noisy heating system outside my third floor room but I'm not too sensitive to stop me sleeping. (Also there is a church with regular chimes that come through the double-glazing!)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay. I'm so pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay . The Dolphin centre is very close and they have gym also that guests can use. I am sorry you were disturbed by some external noise but not please to see it did not affect your sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    222
    117
    44
    17
See reviews for
95
185
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Had booked an upgraded room but it didnt have a walk-in shower, reception were happy to offer me a refurbished room with one and as it was a standard room, reduced the rate by more than the extra I had paid.
Nice hotel, good location, easy parking, but a bit of a rabbit-warren of corridors! Good meal in the restaurant, friendly and helpful restaurant staff. Good nights sleep, although the antics of a rugby team staying meant we were woken up a few times in the night! Reception staff were apologetic and friendly.Overall a decent stay for the price, would recommend + stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit. I am delighted we were able to accommodate your request for a specific room and the staff particularly in the restaurant and at reception were so helpful and friendly. I'm so pleased this is your second visit and you will be staying with us when you next visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

First impressions of this hotel were dire. I arrived after a long drive which followed an even longer working day. Having found the hotel I went in to find out what the parking arrangements were leaving colleagues in their cars. For a large'ish hotel the reception desk wasn't apparent and un-manned at 7.30. I leaned over the desk to check if this was in fact reception - which prompted a lady to emerge from behind a door and ask me not to lean over the desk as there might be confidential information. No welcome or hello, and the chastisement continued for some minutes. Absolutely the last thing I needed after a long journey. You'd never have thought I was the customer. This was a complete contrast to my previous nights stay in a Premier Inn where check in was simple and I felt like a valued customer.
The experience improved after that but check in took longer than seemed necessary.
My room was ok but the bathroom was very badly designed and the shower tray failed to drain and flooded the bathroom. I had to use most of my towels to mop up the resulting water on the floor. There was mould surrounding the windows too.
We ate dinner in the hotel but again service wasn't great and food poor.
At breakfast there wasn't enough space for everyone and some had to wait in the cocktail bar for a table. Typical Mercure breakfast and service. Town centre location convenient if you've got business in the centre.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtravellers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit. Please accept my apologies for the welcome you received upon check in . I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal I would be interested to hear further about your experience if you would like to email me .I am sorry you did not enjoy some aspects of this visit and do hope you will give us the opportunity improve for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Both my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our Valentine's Dinner in the Carriages Restaurant at the King's Hotel. We both chose steak as our main course and it was cooked to perfectly to our liking. The hand cut chips were lovely and chunky. The dessert was a shared platter of different chocolates. The staff were very friendly, in particular 'Charles' was a perfect host. We have celebrated Valentine's Day, 2 year's running here, it is a lovely restaurant, with exceptional staff and food. Very reasonably priced. Well worth a visit. Fred & Donna

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your Valentine's experience . I am delighted you had a most enjoyable second visit with us. The menu was very well received and the staff delivered great service again.
I do hope you will dine with us again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed last weekend for two nights.Check in was quick and easy ,my room was on third floor at back of hotel. Bed was comfy and room clean, what more do you want .All staff i met were friendly , Good choice at breakfast and hot food cooked to order. Paid £44 per night with breakfast at £10 per night. Would stay again when next in town next .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am delighted you had a most enjoyable experience and found our staff to be so friendly. we look forward to you returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
729 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed in this hotel the first Saturday in February. Paid £40 for the room.

Hotel was very central and about tens mins walk from the train station.

Hotel was beautifully decorated and staff friendly. We were allowed to check in when we arrived at 11.15 - great!

First room the window was wonky and there was a gale whistling through the room, but reception moved us quickly and with no fuss.

Second room was lovely - tastefully decorated and had a good sized tv, tea and coffee facilities, ironing board & iron and a safe.

Rooms were not very soundproof was the only thing - heard a lot of noise from inside the hotel and out. Free wifi was patchy in room and you could only get it at certain places then it kept cutting out.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for completing a review of your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay after moving rooms. I am sorry the internet service on this occasion was intermittent and you were disturbed by some external noise from street level. There are rooms available on the other side of the hotel though it is nice at the front overlooking the streetscene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed after a night out in town parking is hit and miss get there early if you want a space, got to the room very smart a bit small ,good size bathroom but bath seemed a bit small when standing in it . Was a bit of a carry on to get to room you have to take lift to 2nd floor then along corridor and take another lift to 4th . The room was v warm even if the windows were drafty . Usual refinements tea coffee a nice tv ironing board . One thing be aware of I think the breakfast is over priced prebook ten pound or thirteen on the day , but is in a great location and as long as you get it for a good price it's ideal.

Room Tip: Get there early for a car park space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyperkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed a good stay overall. I am sorry that you found our breakfast to be overpriced. In comparison to other brands I feel it is still value for money for a wide choice of hot items freshly prepared in the kitchen and the unlimited selection available from continental buffet. I do hope you will consider visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
1.0 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#9 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

Property: Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Address: 9-12 Priestgate, Darlington DL1 1NW, England (Formerly King's Head Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located in the heart of the historic market town, with ideal access to the A1 train st. and airport. Originally built in the 1600s as a Coaching Inn, rebuilt in 1893, and after a 6 million pounds sterling complete refurbishment in 2012, the hotel proudly harmonises its original features with a contemporary designer led style that reflects the hotel's personality. Boasting 83 stylish bedrooms, superior conference and banqueting suites, along with elegantly fashionable rest and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Darlington
Head Hotel King
Hotel Kings Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing