We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great locAtion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
729 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Great locAtion”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed in this hotel the first Saturday in February. Paid £40 for the room.

Hotel was very central and about tens mins walk from the train station.

Hotel was beautifully decorated and staff friendly. We were allowed to check in when we arrived at 11.15 - great!

First room the window was wonky and there was a gale whistling through the room, but reception moved us quickly and with no fuss.

Second room was lovely - tastefully decorated and had a good sized tv, tea and coffee facilities, ironing board & iron and a safe.

Rooms were not very soundproof was the only thing - heard a lot of noise from inside the hotel and out. Free wifi was patchy in room and you could only get it at certain places then it kept cutting out.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for completing a review of your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay after moving rooms. I am sorry the internet service on this occasion was intermittent and you were disturbed by some external noise from street level. There are rooms available on the other side of the hotel though it is nice at the front overlooking the streetscene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    222
    117
    44
    17
See reviews for
95
185
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed after a night out in town parking is hit and miss get there early if you want a space, got to the room very smart a bit small ,good size bathroom but bath seemed a bit small when standing in it . Was a bit of a carry on to get to room you have to take lift to 2nd floor then along corridor and take another lift to 4th . The room was v warm even if the windows were drafty . Usual refinements tea coffee a nice tv ironing board . One thing be aware of I think the breakfast is over priced prebook ten pound or thirteen on the day , but is in a great location and as long as you get it for a good price it's ideal.

Room Tip: Get there early for a car park space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyperkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed a good stay overall. I am sorry that you found our breakfast to be overpriced. In comparison to other brands I feel it is still value for money for a wide choice of hot items freshly prepared in the kitchen and the unlimited selection available from continental buffet. I do hope you will consider visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

2ND Time visiting this hotel, modern decor friendly staff has everything you need. Handy of your going out in town shopping/drinking id defenetly stay again :)

Only reason why I didnt rate it excellent, ia its a bit of a waff on getting to the 3rd floor. You have to get a lift to the 2nd and walk to another lift to get up to wear my room was both occasions ive stayed.

Also the 1st time I stayed my room looked on to the high street of darlington and this occasion it looked onto the roof, next time ill defently request a look on to the high street, it became a bit dull looking out onto the roof after 2 nights apart from a few little things that can be sorted with a more organised booking made by myself the hotel is perfect 9/10!!





Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank KatieNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and in particular found the staff to be so friendly. The layout is quite quirky but certainly adds character to the Victorian section of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Good hotel in central Darlington. Getting a parking spot under the hotel can be a bit hit and miss though. Rooms are good as is the bed. Food is OK. They have a good happy hour deal on drinks.
Irish coffees are very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay. With parking there is a large 24 hour open air car park that charges only £2.50 for the 24 hour period. We hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times, great town centre location. Rooms clean and comfortable. Parking underneath the hotel. Nice breakfast. Would stay here again. Lots of different restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nat1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us .I am delighted you found the room to be comfortable and clean and you enjoyed our breakfast. Next time try out one of the offers in carriages Restaurant .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington,county durham, england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We attended the New Year's Eve party and stayed the night even though we live in the town, we arrived early and got a parking space under the hotel, a small car park but it is a town centre hotel but there is a car park a 5 minute walk away just the other side of the ring road £2-50 for 24hrs
Check in was very quick and easy and a lovely friendly girl on reception, nice sized room great flat screen telly and as I prefer a shower I was pleased that it was a nice big walk in,
The night was great, nice atmosphere good food and the drinks were not expensive and when we did go to bed it was a lovely big and comfortable bed,
All the staff were extremely polite and helpful and the brunch on New Year's Day was tremendous
As we do live in the town we probably would only stay again for an event but I certainly recommend the hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Try to arrive early for the on site car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DARLOMAGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. I am delighted you found the staff all to be helpful and friendly. It sounds like you had a most enjoyable New Year with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of the event and found our drinks prices to be reasonable. We hope to welcome you back for a future event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
1.0 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#9 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

Property: Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Address: 9-12 Priestgate, Darlington DL1 1NW, England (Formerly King's Head Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located in the heart of the historic market town, with ideal access to the A1 train st. and airport. Originally built in the 1600s as a Coaching Inn, rebuilt in 1893, and after a 6 million pounds sterling complete refurbishment in 2012, the hotel proudly harmonises its original features with a contemporary designer led style that reflects the hotel's personality. Boasting 83 stylish bedrooms, superior conference and banqueting suites, along with elegantly fashionable rest and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Darlington
Head Hotel King
Hotel Kings Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing