We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel with very nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice hotel with very nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

arrived at this hotel on tuesday but i had accidently booked the wrong days. the hotel was expecting me on thursday! needless to say the reception staff were very friendly and helena managed to find my a room and transfer my pre paid booking from thursday to tuesday. not a lot of people would go out of their way to help as it was my fault....nice bar, restaurant and rooms have everything you need.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am delighted that reception were able to rearrange your booking for the correct date and you found the staff so accommodating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    218
    116
    44
    17
See reviews for
94
181
36
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

we stayed for a few days and we liked it , rooms very good , food was good ( happy hour ) in the bar you can not beat it , plus the staff could not do enough for us would stay again. and would now look oat other hotels that they have around the country and Europe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank losty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.I am delighted the staff looked after you so well. Its good to hear you enjoyed our food and the daily happy hour between 4pm and 7pm in our bar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding. We arrived late in the evening and were greeted by staff in the car park who assisted us with our luggage. The gentleman on reception was incredibly helpful throughout our stay, it is rare these days that you get staff so polite and attentive!

The rooms were nice, the only downside is that you can hear the church bell chiming on the hour early in the morning!

On checkout we paid cash although we had had to swipe our debit card to secure our booking, as is standard. We didn't realise that the ring fenced funds would then take 10 days to be released back onto the card by the bank when we then paid in cash. It would have been helpful for staff to let customers know this, as that money being held back was an inconvenience. However when we rang the hotel and asked then to fax our details to the bank to say we had paid cash, they did so immediately and the funds were released.

We would stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toffeegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for completing a review of your stay with us. I am delighted that you found our staff so helpful and assisted you with your bags . I am sorry you were not made aware of the pre authorisation , the timescale does differ between banks but as you state we informed the bank on your request. I am so pleased you are able to recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night after booking online, and found it really good value for money. Paid £69 for a room with full breakfast. I was a bit concerned about the car park on reading the reviews but found ample spaces upon arrival. I would imagine that later in the day parking onsite may be an issue! Check in was really quick and friendly, room was small but adequate, comfortable bed and everything was immaculately clean. Well appointed bathroom and really good shower! All the staff were really friendly and helpful. As it was a Friday night, and our room overlooking the high street, it was quite noisy, market stalls being put together, traffic etc, so my only criticism would be the secondary glazing in the room, pretty poor! Breakfast more than made up for it tho, it was excellent, nice smiling staff, a great start to the day. We would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am delighted you found breakfast to be good value and enjoyed this and the service. I apologise you were disturbed by the market stalls being set up outside. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have been staying at the Kings for over 5 years. The new rooms are very comfortable and well laid out. The staff are very helpful and the food is excellent. The hotels biggest problem is the parking there is limited spaces underneath and they have rented out 5 spaces which are not available to guests from 8am to 5:30pm. Please reconsider your parking arrangements as it is the only thing spoiling an excellent hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronski1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for the recent review of your stay with us. I am delighted you are staying with us again. Its wonderful to hear the staff are so helpful and you find the food to be excellent.
There is a large carpark only 5 minutes walk away that charge £2.50 for 24 hours so always somewhere close by to park.We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

£40/night per room was the pre-paid online price for a saturday night. Clean, recently refurbished, quiet comfortable room, friendly helpful staff, great breakfast. We were leaving very early Sunday am and the staff put a full continental breakfast out for us from 0545 including fresh fruit salad etc. For £80-100/night I wouldn't have been disappointed here. Outstanding value for money. Highly recommended. Yes there are long corridors but that's hardly a big problem is it? Car park was full when we arrived at 7pm but we parked on the street directly opposite the front door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am delighted the staff were able to accommodate your early breakfast and you found them to be so helpful. There is certainly a wide selection at breakfast and I am pleased you enjoyed this so much. We hope to see you again when next visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
1.0 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
3.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#9 of 21 in Darlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

Property: Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Address: 9-12 Priestgate, Darlington DL1 1NW, England (Formerly King's Head Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located in the heart of the historic market town, with ideal access to the A1 train st. and airport. Originally built in the 1600s as a Coaching Inn, rebuilt in 1893, and after a 6 million pounds sterling complete refurbishment in 2012, the hotel proudly harmonises its original features with a contemporary designer led style that reflects the hotel's personality. Boasting 83 stylish bedrooms, superior conference and banqueting suites, along with elegantly fashionable rest and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Darlington
Head Hotel King
Hotel Kings Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing