We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean bright and new. Some staff arrogant and uncaring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed one night and the reception and bar staff really were very lovely and the rooms were clean and modern.

The serving staff however were another matter. I tried politely to get the attention of the breakfast waiter but I was snapped at and told to wait until the guy was ready to serve me as he "only had one pair of hands". not liking conflict, especially in the morning i waited until exasperated that he had gone on to serve 3 guests before me who had arrived later, I eventually pointed this out was told I would not be dealt with at all for daring to challenge him. The manager was eventually called for and he refused to believe this of the member of staff repeating that he really was very good. this was said 5 times in total until another guest intervened unprompted and told him how rude and abusive the boy had been. The manager then offered me food and drink but I was at this point too upset to eat and sitting at the reception. He did not however offer to refund me for the breakfast I had paid for but had not received.

If you want a nice clean place to stay then here is fine. If you want customer service and no conflict then maybe somewhere else would he more suitable

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lexfarndell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback.

Kindest of regards

The Mercure Darlington Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 741 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was a very brief stay so this is a very brief review!
Stay was so rushed i did not get time to see anything but reception and my room so apologies for that
However, reception was bright and roomy with friendly welcoming staff and check in was swift and hassle free.
Not an easy hotel to navigate around as the building is much older than the recent(very well done) refurbishment programme would make it seem!
I was in 329, which involved two lifts and a confusing maze of corridors(if you are travelling with wheelchairs/toddlers i would suggest this is made clear to staff)
But, the room itself was spotless and very well furnished(though if you prefer a "view" 329 is not the room to be in as it overlooks a flat roof and air conditioning plant)
Bathroom was equally clean with the usual toiletries to hand
Cannot really say more as did not dine here or even take breakfast
One small point to note if you are driving, the hotel is on a one way system and it is very easy to "overshoot" the (free) car park(turn right into car park about 300yds BEFORE hotel entrance)
Would be happy to use again as the location is very central for bars/restaraunts etc

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorM434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback.

Kindest of regards

The Mercure Darlington Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed on business, I booked through booking.com this had 2 disadvantages:-
1. No reward points 2. It would appear I was put in one of the smallest rooms (maybe a co-incidence but I doubt it).
The room was in good order and was clean. However the include wifi was not reliable and kept dropping (maybe something to do with the room location).
I eat in the bar service was quick, but the Chilli was pretty dull. Drinks were reasonably priced . The hot buffet breakfast was not on ...good news it was freshly cooked (& was very good). I was shocked to be told that I would have to pay for both continental & english breakfast (circa £20!). I challenged this but was told they were separate meals!
When I came to check out I asked again & was told the member of staff was new and I had been overcharged. That was not the only overcharging! On checking the bill I found they had taken the booking.com cost as a deposit & they had charged me standard rate! I asked for this to be corrected and whilst they agreed to it the transaction took an age (I ended up leaving and coming back). To sum up its not a bad place but could be improved...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonJKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback.

Kindest of regards

The Mercure Darlington Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Booked a Double room for our first wk/end stay in Darlington ,found the Hotel to be very good the staff were very freindly and very helpfull anytime we needed direction to various locations we visited during our stay.Hotel in the Perfect location in the centre of town with ideal and safe parking facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback.

Kindest of regards

The Mercure Darlington Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sshillam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dale N, Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

As a resident of Darlington I had never stayed at the Kings Head before, however, because we attended the New Year's Eve Gala Evening there we decided to take the plunge and booked overnight accommodation. I was so glad that we did as the hotel has recently undergone a Six Million Pound renovation following a devastating fire and no expense has been spared; the bedroom we had was really lovely and furnished to a high standard. The room had all the items you would expect in a modern hotel room and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom too was very nice and had enough space to accommodate lots of toiletries which sometimes these days can be lacking.
The gala ball on New Year's Eve was very good indeed and given the amount of people in the Ballroom (there must have been at least 180 people), the food was delicious and piping hot. The service was second to none and was helped by the matre-d ensuring each table was served accurately before moving onto the next one.
Breakfast was being served next day until 12 noon which was gratifying as the ball didn't finish till 2 am. The menu choice at breakfast was impressive and I can tell you that the Full English was scrumptuous and very generous portions.
I am definitely planning to return to the hotel to try dinner in the Carriages Restaurant in the next few weeks and if the food is as good as what I've had so far, I'll be more than delighted. I'll let you know!
The hotel is situated right in the centre of Darlington so cannot be more perfectly located for any visitor coming to our town.
I would have no hesitatation at all in recommending the Kings Head Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback.

Kindest of regards

The Mercure Darlington Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Small pokey rooms. Small bed.
Circulating areas not clean.
New carpets not fitted to a level expected of four stars - threads showing.
Refurb not completed e.g. door frames not fitted properly.
Extremely rude duty manager.
Room not serviced during three nights' stay.
Bins not emptied in room despite specific request at reception.
Dried curled up meats for breakfast, dried out cheese or melted under halogen spots on the bar.
Try discussing all of this with the lovely receptionist, who is lovely and will do well in her chosen profession, you get passed to 'bad cop' duty manager who will argue rudely with you.
Try asking for money off your bill to make you consider staying again, or avoid writing a bad review - you'll be faced with a penny-pinching angry response.
You'll be accused of being a liar!
Four star hotel? Well, apart from being tastefully modernised, the service, apart from the lovely receptionist, is well below par.
Better options available elsewhere!
Quite saddened given that this centrepiece of my hometown, set in the hustle-bustle of the town centre, has such bad management.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChertseyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback.

Kindest of regards

The Mercure Darlington Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
0.4 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
1 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
830 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
0.2 mi away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#10 of 21 in Darlington
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

Address: 9-12 Priestgate, Darlington DL1 1NW, England (Formerly King's Head Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darlington
Price Range: $65 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly located in the heart of the historic market town, with ideal access to the A1 train st. and airport. Originally built in the 1600s as a Coaching Inn, rebuilt in 1893, and after a 6 million pounds sterling complete refurbishment in 2012, the hotel proudly harmonises its original features with a contemporary designer led style that reflects the hotel's personality. Boasting 83 stylish bedrooms, superior conference and banqueting suites, along with elegantly fashionable rest and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Darlington
Head Hotel King
Hotel Kings Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing