We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing mo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodland Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 19 Darlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing mo”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

our stay at the woodland guesthouse was excellent , Mo was a lovely person ,the place was lovely a clean ,and breakfast was fantastic .We will stay again on our next trip to Darlington ,send our love to Ralph , thanks mo paul&sue

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
24
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I regularly stay here at Mo's B&B, I have tried out a few other B&B's but this is definitely the best! Which is why I keep returning. Mo is such a warm, welcoming and accommodating person, it really does feel like a home. The place is immaculate, and you can tell Mo takes great pride in running her B&B. Dressing gowns are provided and you have full use of the house. Breakfast is lovely - and there is such a lot to choose from! Cereals, cereal bars, fruit, fresh juice, hot drinks, as well as a cooked breakfast - at a time you choose. The house has a lovely living room which is very sociable. I look forward to my trips up to Darlington because I know I will get looked after here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Such a nice comfortable stay very nice place to stay very good service and excellent breakfast such a welcome guesthouse would defintly stay there again when I visit dargington also very cheap prices for gof quilty

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed by myself at this guest house and I must say, Mo is one of the most genuine and most accommodating persons you will ever meet. She showed me round the guest house and where to find things I might need, she provides free wifi and the beds..... OMG the beds are soooooooo comfy, you don't want to get out of bed in the morning! I had never stayed in Darlington before and although I had a friend come and visit during my stay, she made me feel at home and could not have done more for me. We had a bit of a giggle in the morning as she accidentally bought chipolatas instead of normal sausages, but im not going to hold it against her, we all make genuine mistakes, saying that, the breakfast was lovely, a very nice spread and nothing was burnt on my cooked breakfast. I will definately be staying again and look forward to seeing Mo and her cat, and I will strongly advise others looking for a home from home to be booking into this guest house too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanGrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My sister and I happened upon the Woodland Guesthouse completely by accident after arriving in Darlington for a family party. It was great to have somewhere comfortable and friendly to rest our heads and my family couldn't believe we had found somewhere so highly recommended just down the road (despite living in the area for 20+ years!)

Mo is a very welcoming and down-to-earth person and we both felt completely at home at the Guesthouse. Unfortunately, Mo wasn't very well when we visited so she had arranged for other guests to be transferred elsewhere - the fact that she allowed us to stay despite her illness, because she knew we had family on the same street was a lovely touch - we were very grateful. We didn't have breakfast at the Guesthouse because Mo was poorly, but she very kindly knocked some money off the price of the room to compensate. Another great touch was that she put my sister and I in the family room rather than the twin room, because my sister mentioned that she liked a powerful shower and easy access to the bathroom.

Recommended to the rest of my family - without a doubt, we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Mo is such a friendly lady and makes you feel thoroughly welcome from the off. She immediatley shows you around the house and where everything is, gives you the key to the front door so you can come and go as you need to. She serves a wonderful selection of breakfast in the morning, cereals, fruit, yogurts, toast, cooked breakfast, you name it! You can tell she loves her guesthouse and loves meeting the people that stay there. I was quite sad to leave, but when we did she came to the door and even waved us off! A very friendly, welcoming and rememberable stay and I would highly recommend this guesthouse to everyone.

Room Tip: If you are older and a little unsteady do not choose the twin attic room as it has thin steep stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCKimberBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This B&B is in a beautiful terraced house on a quiet residential street. It was absolutely immaculate inside, with everything we needed for our stay provided including a dressing gown and towel.
The owner Moe is friendly and welcoming (as is her cat Ralph). We used the sitting room to watch television in, and she even invited our friend who we were visiting to come and eat breakfast with us on Sunday morning.
Breakfast was a full english with a choice of lots of cereal and fruit too.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
0.7 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
0.8 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#9 of 21 in Darlington
155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
813 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Guesthouse

Property: Woodland Guesthouse
Address: 36 Woodland Terrace, Darlington DL3 9NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodland Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in Darlington's West End, Woodland Guest House is an ideal place to feel at home whilst travelling. You will receive a warm and friendly welcome from Mo offering a relaxed Home from Home stay. Sticking to the more traditional layout of a house guests have free use of the kitchen, lounge and dining room. Our four bedrooms have shared bath/shower facilities. Free Internet connection throughout the house. Looking forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Woodland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing