We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raby Castle

Raby Castle
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Darlington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Visited Raby Castle with my family last Christmas, went to Santas Grotto which was beautiful and had a walk round the grounds- beautiful setting and deer grazing. Will definitely return to Santa's Grotto and the tea rooms this Christmas and visit the castle in spring

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondsupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    126
    17
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Visit To See Santa is Well Worth the Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I went last December with my nephew and 4 year old great nephew and had a magical experience. The location is superb! Santa's Grotto was absolutely amazing! I would highly recommend taking children here. The children get a high quality present from Santa who dresses in green. The deer in the fields outside complete the experience.

There is a well stocked shop for your Christmas presents and game as well as a cafe selling delicious cakes.

Book early so you are not disappointed!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblesCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very helpful &passionate volunteers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We (2 mums & 4 kids) visited Raby on the Aug 31. It was a final fling after the school hols.

We initially were just going to visit the grounds but the children wanted to go into the castle and I am so pleased we did. It is an awe inspiring building in sheer size and 'castleyness'! The entrance fee was not unreasonable - we spent approx 4 hrs there and only left the grounds as it was raining, oh and closing time!!

When we went into the castle we were greeted by an exceptionally helpful member of staff who happily issued the girls with a tour quiz each, this was invaluable as it gave us something to focus their attention in each room. The rooms you visit are intriguing, packed to the rafters with treasures. Each room has a story to tell and the guides were happy to answer the numerous questions posed by adults and children. The castle really captured our children's imagination due to it being still lived in by the same family over many, many years....it is not a ruin where your imagination really has to work very hard! It also can be linked to different parts of the school history topics.

The younger child's (5) attention began to wane after 2hrs and you do live in fear that they will touch anything! But the hexagon shaped drawing room, the huge drive through hall and the kitchens all created much chatter.

We had picniced before our tour in the beautiful gardens which offer a little something for everyone, with ideas you could take home to your corner plot!

We had a little visit to the adventure playground with our reasonably priced icecreams from the shop (only query would be why was the icecream from sussex or somewhere... not at all local!!). We did not have time to explore the grounds and see the deer as time and rain caught up on us.

This is our 3rd visit, 1st was an excellent Easter trail, 2nd to see Santa (very good santa!) and now returning with friends.

We would go back as it offers a full day out in beautiful surroundings.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Upnorfagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Raby Castle, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
What a lovely review, it's nice to hear that you enjoyed evey aspect of the Castle and grounds, and it's brilliant to hear you brought friends back to. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent a lovely afternoon in the September sunshine, which made such a difference being able to walk around all of the grounds, which are well keep and lots of wild life. The deer park is a lovely walk with lots of deer roaming. Castle history fascinating although a shame we couldn't have seen more of the rooms. Very helpful informative guides who new their stuff! The price as fair £20 for 2 (most national trust properties £14+ ) we didn't have tea as we planned a late lunch, but the tea rooms seemed to offer lovely. Homemade food - maybe next time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeBev246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“All the Deer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We enjoyed very much walking in the extensive park before the Castle opened and watching the deer sheltering from sun in the huge tree shadow. So many antlers! Very interesting castle grounds with precious exhibits; the huge Baron's Hall is really impressive. And the gardens are lovely, you do not see so fantastically cut hedges often! Good sandwiches in the cafe, clean toilets.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MorskaVydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Raby Castle, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We work very hard to maintain high sandards of maintenance, service and cleanliness, our staff will be thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and I will pass your comments on to all involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raby Castle also viewed

Middleton in Teesdale, County Durham
 
Barnard Castle, County Durham
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 

Been to Raby Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing