We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and Friendly”
Review of The Royal Thai

The Royal Thai
Ranked #116 of 277 Restaurants in Darlington
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty and Friendly”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We usually try and find a Thai restaurant in every town we visit, so we are not regulars and have eaten better Thai food, but we were not disappointed by the anything, the food, drink, the price or the restaurant. It was quiet on the night we went, so we did not experience any problems with the order. Overall it was very good and the staff are very friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    6
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
notheast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Out&about!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have visited on several occassions, and service can be slow depending on the number of guests. Also when several guests at a table, waitress (because of language) tend to get orders confused. However in general quality of the meals was good. Staff are very pleasant and try to please in spite of mix ups at times.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank felizviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Tasty and fast service”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Me an' wifey had an early bird special before going to the theatre over the road. It was still quiet at that time, so service was super fast but without being over attentive. The meal was tasty and nicely presented, and at under £20 for two three course meals - excluding drinks - who can complain at that?

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent meal and service”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great service great food , never had a bad meal yet will continue to go there

Helpful?
2 Thank kirray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Thai Food”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

What a surprise to find such an excellent Thai restaurant in Darlington. My wife s Thai and were visiting family in Darlington. We found this restaurant by chance but, we thoughly enjoyed the food which was true Thai and in addition the owner has a Thai food shop right across the road. We struggle to find as good as this London. Brilliant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DiverT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Thai also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Royal Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing