We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Farmhouse

The Old Farmhouse
Ranked #108 of 269 Restaurants in Darlington
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Farmhouse in Darlington is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We have been here a few times recently , whilst it has been adequate our latest experience will mean no more return visits.
To start with we got a table straight away but the service after that was slow, we eventually received our drinks and placed the food order, 30 mins later the starters arrived, the goats cheese crostini whilst nice was served on a greasy plate with finger marks all around the edge, the calamari was nearly cold, the lettuce was going brown and the plate the dish was served on again greasy and full of finger marks.
The mains arrived another 30 minutes later , the gammon served once again upon a greasy and finger marked plate and not particularly hot, the mixed grill was luke warm with the exception of the peas which were stone cold!
We gambled on a dessert, big mistake, didn't think it was possible to cock up profiteroles, but they did, they were choux pastry semi filled with squirty cream and covered in squirty cream and a runny chocolate sauce, they were shockingly poor.
The table next to us had to borrow our spare cutlery as theirs was dirty!
On the whole a very poor experience and we will not be returning!

Helpful?
1 Thank Davethejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Old Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
we are sorry to hear your didnt enjoy your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    105
    84
    67
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing service...........”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Four of us ate here at Christmas, the place was very full but we had a very nice meal and the service was excellent, I can't believe that four short weeks later we had such a terribly disappointing meal with the most appallingly bad service. The Old Farmhouse is such a lovely place inside with a good menu, what went wrong? We ordered our starters and main meal but then it went down hill from there, our main meal arrived without first having our starters, we were a bit non plussed especially as no one appologied for their massive over sight. We decided not to bother about the starters and carry on with the main meal, however my chips were cold, I pointed this out and the waiter took it away to be reheated. My husbands chicken and potatoes were luke warm, however he continued with his meal but eventually left half of it. On complaining about his meal he was given a free sweet, which was very nice. We all had luke warm coffee without sugar, which we had to go and find ourselves, also no mint or biscuit to accompany it. Also two meals had nice homemade chips but two had oven ready ones, now I'm sorry I can have oven ready chips at home, I don't expect to pay restaurant prices to eat oven ready chips when I'm out.
Overall it was a extremely disappointing meal and with terrible service, I wish I didn't have to write this but I'm afraid it's true.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlet062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Old Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are sorry to hear this, would you call us to discuss this matter further?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Myself and my husband come here once a month, and have never had a bad experience! The food is amazing, selection of beers and drinks is very good and the staff are very efficient and polite. As an extra bonus, we have signed up to the website and regularly receive 20% off vouchers!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie190764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Old Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely fire & beer terrible food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been a few times for a drink and cosy seat near the fire, but decided to have lunch last Sunday, got the braised belly pork and was terrible, a pile of oily fat. The 'roasted' veg was raw and the potatoes also. Couldn't eat any of it, it was taken of the bill. Hot chocolate was lovely, however all very overpriced for microwave food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dime11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Old Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are very sorry to hear your feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to ask you to revisit us for us to show that this is not the food quality to be expected, and also take this opportunity to say our sunday lunches are cooked freshly throughout every sunday and none of our sunday lunches are microwaved. Please be assured
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A nice experience despite rubbish food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a change and for the choice of beers; the service was good, but we asked for a warm table and were told there was a radiator behind the one we went for, which wasn't actually the case. However the main problem was the steak, it was just bad. I'd ordered medium rare and mine was well done, so not cooked properly, and the meat itself was unpleasant, bad quality. Two of us had the sirloin and we brought most of it home for the dogs. Also, the chips I had were floury and not nice. In general the place and staff were nice and we enjoyed the trip, despite the food. I wouldn't choose to go again, but if I do, I would definitely choose something else.

Helpful?
Thank CulturalExplorer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Old Farmhouse, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments, please come and give us another try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Farmhouse also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Old Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing