We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”
Review of The Old Farmhouse

The Old Farmhouse
Ranked #106 of 288 Restaurants in Darlington
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Old Farmhouse in Darlington is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Myself and my husband come here once a month, and have never had a bad experience! The food is amazing, selection of beers and drinks is very good and the staff are very efficient and polite. As an extra bonus, we have signed up to the website and regularly receive 20% off vouchers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlie190764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Old Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 417 of 475 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been a few times for a drink and cosy seat near the fire, but decided to have lunch last Sunday, got the braised belly pork and was terrible, a pile of oily fat. The 'roasted' veg was raw and the potatoes also. Couldn't eat any of it, it was taken of the bill. Hot chocolate was lovely, however all very overpriced for microwave food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dime11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Old Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We are very sorry to hear your feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to ask you to revisit us for us to show that this is not the food quality to be expected, and also take this opportunity to say our sunday lunches are cooked freshly throughout every sunday and none of our sunday lunches are microwaved. Please be assured

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went here for a change and for the choice of beers; the service was good, but we asked for a warm table and were told there was a radiator behind the one we went for, which wasn't actually the case. However the main problem was the steak, it was just bad. I'd ordered medium rare and mine was well done, so not cooked properly, and the meat itself was unpleasant, bad quality. Two of us had the sirloin and we brought most of it home for the dogs. Also, the chips I had were floury and not nice. In general the place and staff were nice and we enjoyed the trip, despite the food. I wouldn't choose to go again, but if I do, I would definitely choose something else.

Thank CulturalExplorer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Old Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments, please come and give us another try

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

good variety of food. Good value, friendly atmosphere. Recommend book particularly weekends or could be disappointed

Thank sheenmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Old Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have eaten here today as part of a group of 25 all bunched together lovely in a little area at the back.
It was warm and cosy, we had a mix of babies and disabled diners in our group, disabled access and facilities good.
They took our orders at the table and did very well because we were all ordering and paying in little groups.
Everyone enjoyed there food starters mains and puddings the waiters were very helpfull and friendly
All food tasty and hot well done everyone, we already booked again xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H, Manager at The Old Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Farmhouse also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Old Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing