We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmoral Guest House Darlington
Ranked #1 of 19 Darlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I would recommend this Guest House to anyone travelling to Darlington. I usually stay in 4/5 star Hotels whilst away on business compliments of my Company. On this occasion I needed an unplanned nights stay and came across the Balmoral which was wonderful, clean and delightful hosts with nothing too much trouble. Will definately stay again... Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly186332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    11
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
12
31
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

A fantastic place to stay where we were made to feel very welcome by both Andrew, the owner, and his staff. Having arrived at midnight Andrew was at the front door to greet us and help with luggage to our rooms. We stayed in a lovely quiet ensuite room at the top of the house which was very comfortable and clean. We were welcomed to breakfast the following morning and both the food and choice given was very good. The Balmoral is very well located and is only about a 5-10 minute walk into town. Very good value for money and we will definitely be staying there again.
The hospitality and caring attitude by all at the Balmoral makes it a place well worth staying at!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and myself spent 2 nights at the Balmoral guest house in May we were welcomed very warmly by Andrew and taken to our room it was a lovely room and the spacious and clean we were welcomed to breakfast by very pleasant staff and the breakfast was really good I would definitely stay again with no hesitation at all

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pcvdriver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by the Balmoral !! Conveniently located just a few minutes walk from Darlington CBD, with ample local parking and representing excellent value for money. Stepping inside I was amazed by the layout, reminding me of the Tardis - so many rooms on different levels with so much atmosphere and class. I was fascinated by the china plates and had a lovely chat my host - Andrew, about them. My room was very cosy and quiet, just the way I like it. The food was outstanding, with a breakfast cooked to order and very pleasant ~ helpful service. If I am ever in Darlo in Business again, the Balmoral will be my priority choice....! Thankyou to Andrew and his Staff for such a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Just phone up to discuss your requirements, Andrew is very helpful and will sort you out !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Balmoral B&B in May for a wedding. The room in the converted coach house was clean and well appointed. Friendly staff and a great breakfast. Location close to Darlington centre - 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: The coach house is separtate from the main house and away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Balmoral the night before a wedding and on arrival which was late with two young children, we were greeted with a smile and very helpful service. Andrew also kindly offered me a lift to the local shops for some much needed supplies after a long drive! The room was spacious, clean and overall very comfortable and an even better breakfast. I would not hesitate visiting again and certainly recommend to anyone thinking of staying in Darlington. I received the best service and hospitality I have experienced for a long time and did not expect it for the price I was paying. It goes to show that this costs them nothing but gives their customers a great experience and the larger more expensive hotel chains should take note.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atkinson_carl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I spent nearly 2 weeks at this excellent B and B in Darlington on a work recommendation. Andrew and Amy provided a five star service. My double ensuite was spotless, bedlinen pristine always and changed regularly. My bedroom and bed were extremely comfortable, was really relaxing and offered a peaceful night's sleep, with many tv channels and complimentary tea, coffee making facilities. The room was very tastefully decorated with plenty of storage if required. The house itself is really lovely a mixture of antique with a modern twist, very warm and comfortable. The daily breakfast provided very generous portions and a varied selection of foods. The full english was cooked to perfection every time and was very generous. Andrew and Amy were so welcoming, kind, accommodating and helpful, were always cheerful and willing to offer help, advice on the local areas of interest and transport etc. Free travel to and from the train station is a great bonus. A private guest kitchen offers food storage and microwave cooking facilities. This wonderful establishment provides a home from home. It is ideally located ideally just a few minutes walk from the town centre/ main supermarkets and only15 from the train station by foot if you chose to walk. I have stayed in many B and B's and this is the best that I have been lucky enough to encounter. I would highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to visit Darlington and the surrounding areas. It is marvellous value for money and is the best one in Darlington from my knowledge and experience. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38Mac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
1.0 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
0.5 mi away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#9 of 21 in Darlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Guest House Darlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Guest House Darlington

Property: Balmoral Guest House Darlington
Address: 63 Woodland Road, Darlington DL3 7BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Balmoral Guest House Darlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Guest House Darlington Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing