We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmoral Guest House Darlington
Ranked #1 of 19 Darlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were a party of 5 guys on our way to a cycling holiday in the Dales.

Andrew and the team could not be more helpful.. we arrived from London quite late, but being the group we were, felt we had to pop out for a pint or too. Andrew not only recommended a bar, but drove us there.

Excellent breakfast.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
12
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My Daughter and I stayed here for two weeks and it became our home. Andrew could not have been more helpful and he made our time there so much easier for us both and gave us a choice of rooms. The service we received was excellent, our room was always clean and comfortable, breakfasts were great with an amazing choice of cooked and all the girls were very friendly too. As we were there for a longer term than most guests Andrew also provided a fridge in our room, and there is a guest's kitchen downstairs with a microwave, toaster, kettle, crockery & cutlery and fridge.
Nothing was ever too much trouble, even down to providing an apron for my Daughter's fancy dress. My Dad came up for a night too and was given a room in the 'cottage' - beautiful - modern to my big Victorian room in the main house.
Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone and I know that my family will use the Balmoral again.
Thank you again to Andrew & the Girls for making our life so much easier at a very hard time for us both. :-)

Room Tip: The Annexe and Cottage rooms are at the back in the garden so very quiet. Room 9 is enormous and eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this lovely B&B late September for the weekend for a family wedding. We felt at home from the moment we arrived. We had 4 rooms here and all were very comfortable and cosy. Andrew & girls are always ready for you and always went the extra mile albeit calling the mechanic for our car and posting on an item we had left behind. Which we were extremely grateful for.

The breakfast was lovely and had a good choice and always extras available.

Being in the hotel business ourselves we know it is not always easy, but Andrew clearly loves what he does and makes it look effortless. We would recommend to stay without hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the separate block at the back of the B&B - very quiet and highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed recently with son and at the last minute minute another guest joined us, rang Andrew to arrange and he agreed with no problem at all, great breakfast at a very early hour, very accommodating, wonderful . :) Easy parking in road and overall very enjoyable stay. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the end of September and were wonderfully looked after.
The Balmoral is a fantastic house and rooms are impressive; well appointed, great beds and very clean and well kept.
Andrew and his staff were most attentive and nothing was too much trouble - I even left a book behind which he is keeping for me!
If you are an English breakfast fan, you must stay here because they are absolutely the BEST.
Will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I spent a week at the beginning of September on a training course at the Dogs Trust nr Darlington and stayed at Balmoral Guest House in the Balmoral Cottage annexe. I'd wondered how I would feel being away on my own (without my own dog!) for a whole week but my stay here was wonderful. My room was like home from home, so quiet and comfortable, and I slept like a log! Nothing was too much trouble for Andrew and his staff and breakfast was great. Can't recommend this little gem highly enough. Helen, Warwickshire

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishton, lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Me and my daughter stayed here for the first time in August to see family who live in Darlington, we had a wonderful big, clean room, plenty big enough for a family, the rooms offer wi-fi and has a big tv with digital free view. We had a very warm welcome and a good nights sleep ( bed very comfy). The morning after we went for breakfast in a charming room where a choice of cereals, juice and tea's were on a table and a hot breakfast order was taken, the breakfast was excellent and big,,enjoyed our stay a lot thank you..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
786 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
1.9 mi away
Harrowgate Hill Lodge
Harrowgate Hill Lodge
#16 of 21 in Darlington
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Guest House Darlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Guest House Darlington

Property: Balmoral Guest House Darlington
Address: 63 Woodland Road, Darlington DL3 7BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Balmoral Guest House Darlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Guest House Darlington Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing