We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, helpful staff, good tearoom” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paddock Farm Nursery & Water Gardens

Paddock Farm Nursery & Water Gardens
Ranked #7 of 26 things to do in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located on West Lane (near Croft Race Circuit), Paddock Farm Nursery & Water Gardens is a wonderful day out for all the family. We have nine unique Water Gardens for you to browse around at your leisure, a delicious Tea Room serving home made treats from sandwiches to full dinners and our amazing Koi & Pond are considered to be one of the best in the country! The Tropical Fish centre recently claimed customer recognition as the biggest and best supplier in the region! Open 7 days a week, you are always welcome to visit us. Our Water Gardens are completely free and we have something for all members of your family. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, helpful staff, good tearoom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Helpful and friendly staff, good range of tropical fish, also have garden centre and pond supplies. Tearooms are great, no fuss/no frills decoration-wise but home cooked food, they do amazing chips!! Great for lunch or a small bite to eat

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tanya2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    31
    13
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not the same”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Have always loved this place but the past two visits have been a bit of a let down. They always had some really nice plants n stuff but its no different to the other places now. It has a cafe but it really smells like a greasy spoon it's awful. The cheese scones were terrible tasteless and bone dry as if they had been there several days. On the plus side you do get a large cuppa!
I don't think I will go out of my way to visit again anytime soon and won't be recommending either.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsjCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

lovely place helpful staff we liked looking at the fish they have awide selection the café was of good value

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tremendous Sunday Lunch!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I went here yesterday 26th AUG with 2 children ages 6 and 9 and they had a family day raising money for a hospice and people with cancer kids had a great time looking for the animals which had been hidden in various places around the gardens. We were there for hours it took quite a while there was face painting and the children could paint pictures, there were people in fancy dress which the kids loved, also as they were raising money for charity you had to guess the number of balloons in Dawns car and name the bear, guess the amount of eyeballs in the glass, the kids really enjoyed it... there were numerous amounts of fish for sale my husband was in his element as well as ponds, garden furniture, plants and other items.. also it had the nicest food the BEEF DINNER was out of this world !!!! the kids had ice-cream floats which they loved and sausage chips and beans all in all they had a ball of a day, great day out for people with little ones, and do try the sunday lunch well worth the £6.25!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leann52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Was I really at the same place that all of these positive reviews relate to. We made a journey here based on the glowing reports on Tripadvisor The gardens were nice enough to wander around in. The cafe however was unclean and tired. The cheese scone I had was dry and tasteless. We won't be returning as the standard of other places is so high in comparison these days.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonjo220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paddock Farm Nursery & Water Gardens also viewed

 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to Paddock Farm Nursery & Water Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing