We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a short walk to Tees Valley Airport”
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St George Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Darlington
Reviewed January 29, 2007

Arrived at 10pm to a good welcome. Was asked if i planned to eat as the kitchen was about to close. Nice touch. I opted to head to sleep though. I'd requested and was given a single room, which was a surprise as I'd not stayed in a singele bed for years. Room was ok - only half of the window had a blackout blind which was a problem with outside lighting and sunrise. Window looked onto carpark and had no net/privacy curtain to let me enjoy daylight without waving at passing motorists. Breakfast was big and hearty. GBP 50, so it was a good location and just about value for money

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank andrew.gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 286 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2007

Drab, smelly, 20 years out of date, a most unpleasant experience. Positive reviewers, you really must live in squalid conditions if you think this place is nice. Avoid at all costs, unless, of course, you enjoy staying in dives. Good luck

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Billyz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

This hotel is a pleasant hotel on the doorstep of the airport. Literally 3 minute walk to the airport from the hotel.

It is clean

It is quiet, even though there was a function going on but we were at the other end of the hotel.

Never even heard the planes. Believe this is because the runway and takeoff is at the other side of the airport wayaway

Basically no complaints. Thing I liked was the tea and coffee making facilities they weren't tight with them and give you plenty of milk not like some hotels that give you 2 if you're lucky.

Booked online and got a really good rate

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RebeccaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
brighton
11
Reviewed March 30, 2005

A very enjoyable stay. The staff where friendly and helpful. Good food and service. Easy to find and most important value for money. What more do you want.

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2005

My wife and I stayed here in early 2005 for two nights following a tour of the UK staying in hotels which all cost more than we paid at the St George.
The main reason most guests stay here is it's close proximity to Teesside airport (now renamed Durham Tees Valley) which is only about 200 yards away.

The hotel was formerly part of the officer accomodation provided when the airport was RAF Middleton St George, having been refurbished several times since.

Our bedroom was well furnished and clean and the king sized bed provided a good nights sleep. The en-suite bathroom was roomy, clean and modern with plenty of hot water.

Although we were at the airport side of the building we were not disturbed by aircraft noise as the windows were double glazed and the airport was not very busy late at night and in the early morning.
The bar is also comfortable with large leather armchairs and the barstaff are very helpful and pleasant.

The fare sold in the restaurant is mainly unpretentious, simple traditional English food but it is well prepared with good portions and not too expensive. There is a full English buffet breakfast which we found to be of good quality with lots of variety.

All in all this hotel provided good value for money and for those people who want an early start from the airport it could not be better placed. I will certainly stay there again. It may have been the cheapest hotel we stayed in during our UK visit but it was certainly better than most.

The nearby town of Darlington is close and is well worth a visit and has some good pubs and restaurants. It is very attractive during the summer having won the Britain in Bloom award numerous times.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BriandJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Marcin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, reception at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Durham Tees Hotel
Durham Tees Hotel
#16 of 22 in Darlington
108 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#5 of 22 in Darlington
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
5.3 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 22 in Darlington
905 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington East (Morton Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Address: Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington DL2 1RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range: $59 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing