We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant, clean, friendly, quiet value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St George Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant, clean, friendly, quiet value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

Staff are very friendly and really helpful, people who have slated this hotel obviously have champagne tates but only want to spend lemonade money. Rooms were very comfortable, hotel was quiet and breakfast was however you wanted it. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    69
    67
    23
    14
See reviews for
40
69
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

This a perfectly reasonable hotel for the price. We paid £55 for a double room and breakfast (which was good quality and plentiful).

The place is a little tired and the bedroom was a little small. It was well equipped however.

We had an evening meal in the bar - this was ok and pretty reasonably priced.

All in all we would go back - a pleasent experience at a decent price.

Helpful?
Thank am36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

We had to carry our cases up a flight of stairs to our room on the first floor. There is no lift and no Porter. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent and good value. The room was clean, bed was comfotable, the bathroom was very old and the plumbing very out dated, in fact it was so far back it was in Narnia. Next morning we ate a very tasty cooked breakfast. If you have an early flight this hotel is ok for a one night stop over. But not really worth the money. Pay about a fiver for a taxi ride to one of the other hotels not far from the Airport

  • Liked — Good breakfast
  • Disliked — No lift or porter
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSallyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2007

Arrived at 10pm to a good welcome. Was asked if i planned to eat as the kitchen was about to close. Nice touch. I opted to head to sleep though. I'd requested and was given a single room, which was a surprise as I'd not stayed in a singele bed for years. Room was ok - only half of the window had a blackout blind which was a problem with outside lighting and sunrise. Window looked onto carpark and had no net/privacy curtain to let me enjoy daylight without waving at passing motorists. Breakfast was big and hearty. GBP 50, so it was a good location and just about value for money

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — B;a
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew.gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darlington hotels

London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2007

Drab, smelly, 20 years out of date, a most unpleasant experience. Positive reviewers, you really must live in squalid conditions if you think this place is nice. Avoid at all costs, unless, of course, you enjoy staying in dives. Good luck

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — arriving
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Billyz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2006

This hotel is a pleasant hotel on the doorstep of the airport. Literally 3 minute walk to the airport from the hotel.

It is clean

It is quiet, even though there was a function going on but we were at the other end of the hotel.

Never even heard the planes. Believe this is because the runway and takeoff is at the other side of the airport wayaway

Basically no complaints. Thing I liked was the tea and coffee making facilities they weren't tight with them and give you plenty of milk not like some hotels that give you 2 if you're lucky.

Booked online and got a really good rate

  • Liked — close to the airport
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a quiet room just in case there is a function on and it's noisy
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2005

A very enjoyable stay. The staff where friendly and helpful. Good food and service. Easy to find and most important value for money. What more do you want.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#13 of 21 in Darlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
5.4 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel and Spa - Darlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Property: St George Hotel
Address: Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington DL2 1RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing