We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel(Walworth)(Great Value!)
$93
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockliffe Hall(Hurworth-on-Tees)
$276
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Darlington Hotel(Darlington)(Great Value!)
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clow Beck House(Darlington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
96
84
72
27
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
84
72
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsofficers messworld warlancaster bomberair forcelots of historysmall museuminteresting hotelbit datedno liftenjoyed my staydietary requirementsbuffet breakfastthe bed was extremely comfortablenothing is too much troublethe hotel managerwould recommend this hotel to anyoneplenty of hot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 295 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is the converted Officers Mess of the once RAF Middleton St George and is located just a few yards from Teeside Airport. Although in close proximity to the airport we didn't find the noise, what little there was, a problem.
The staff were extremely friendly and obliging and did their utmost to provide guests with a quiet and relaxing stay. The restaurant food was quite acceptable and reasonably priced. The surrounding area offers lots of day trips out including the Maritime Museum at Hartlepool.
We found this little 3 star gem quite by accident whilst surfing possible accommodation in the area and are pleased we did. We would return again and recommend it to anyone wanting accommodation in the area especially those flying from Teeside as you only have to walk across the road and carpark and your in the terminal.

Room Tip: Lancaster Wingon the ground floor is farthest from Reception so quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mithril013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your review Mithril013 we are very proud of the history here at the St George.

We hope to see you again soon


Kind regards

Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Held a meeting there. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, they looked after us and managed to rustle up a lunch for someone with special dietary requirements at short notice. We had a sandwich buffet lunch and this was delicious, fresh and tasty. The hotel itself is full of character - not the standard modern boutique type hotel - but that added to its charm. It was very clean with good facilities. We had a couple of wheelchair users at the meeting and they thought the access was better than many hotels. Would definitely book again and would recommend it for gatherings and bigger style conferences - from what I could tell, there were rooms that could offer a good combination of layouts. Can't comment on bedrooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback Sheila was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again very soon

Kind regards


Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Can't praise this hotel enough,

the food and service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble,

rooms great,

and special thanks to Kim at the hotel who really, really looked after us.

the location is easily got to with parking no problem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hi Mel
Thank you for your response during your recent stay at the hotel.i am glad your first visit was enjoyable and I hope you will consider us again next time you are in the area.Look forward to your next visit
Regards
Kim Raynor
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel 3 nights. The room was spacious, very clean with comfortable bed. Despite being next to the airport, we had no noise and we slept very well. We had iron, hairdryer and very nice, clean towels. The tea and coffee was good quality and was replenished daily. The food very tasty and plentiful. We have only one suggestion to the hotel owner- could you please put mixer tap on the basins because from the hot tap was running nearly boiling water and from cold tap the water was freezing cold. It was very difficult to wash hands under running water. We have enjoyed stay in this hotel and if in area we will use it again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EwB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear DWB0
Thankyou for your kind comments during your recent stay I am pleased you had a nice time with us and look forward to seeing you again
Regards
Kim Raynor
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

To be honest, so tired after a long journey, I didn't use the bar or eat there, so you need to reflect that on my review.
Location is at Teeside Airport Perimiter, but no problems with noise. The airport use to be a Canadian WW2 bomber base and remained in RAF ownership until 1964. The history is reflected throughout the premises with Room names, photos , artifacts and a fantastic statue outsde of Andrew Mynarski VC. Look him up on Google, a truly courageous man. If you are a history buff, you will love this place, as it was previously military accommodation, showing it's age.
Not very appealing , outside or inside and needs TLC. The Towel rail/ hot water tap are very hot so take care. To be fair, though the staff were great, and room cheap but I wouldn't go out of my way to book again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LordHafod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Hi LordHaford
Thank you for your comments during your recent stay I am glad you enjoyed the history of the hotel we are very proud of it.We are currently undergoing extensive refurbishment and hope you will see the results of the hard work on your next visit
Regards
Kim Raynor
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews