We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Split personality hotel”
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St George Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Split personality hotel”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A group of 11 of us stayed for one night, with evening meal, breakfast and a conference on site the next day.

I agree with some previous comments re the physical state of the hotel but it is clearly a work in progress; my summation 2-3* hotel accommodation with 4* staff.

Once the renovations are complete this will be a great hotel. Rooms currently are a little hit and miss but most importantly clean and the beds very comfortable.

The staff were simply fantastic, Kim Raynor deserves a special mention. His organisation, attentiveness without suffocation and efficiency were all exceptional! Darren (I hope I've remembered his name correctly) didn't hesitate to come and assist me to open my window, turns out I was just being a whimp, but he was so jolly and sweet about it that I didn't feel quite so stupid.

Our evening meal was great, delicious tomato and basil soup or salmon fish-cake were a couple of the starters on offer, vegetarian Thai curry, poached salmon and chicken were some of the mains, served with ample fresh vegetables. Dessert offered a really good bread and butter pudding and cheesecake. I don't think there was much waste on collected plates! Breakfast was a serve yourself affair with a good array of foods on offer; you wouldn't go hungry here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissKatieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review.

I will pass on your thanks to Kim i agree with you he is a star.

Kind regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    72
    67
    23
    15
See reviews for
40
72
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gravesend, united kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of a coach trip to Yorkshire. As I have difficulty in using stairs, I telephoned in advance asking for a ground floor room. On booking in we were given a room on the 1st floor, and there is no lift. On reminding the receptionist about my telephone call, they immediately changed the room to one on the ground floor. However there was no notes on the booking form about my request.
Our room, No. 5 was clean and adequate. However the toilet seat was not fixed correctly and slid all over the place. This was reported to the reception on the first day but still had not been seen to by the time we left. We had only one bath towel and one hand towel between us the entire stay of 3 nights.
The general appearance of the hotel is that it is run down and though they are endeavoring to redecorate, things like torn carpets, with tape over the tear which has also worn away, were very evident. This hotel needs lots of general smartening up and though some areas have been painted, they lack character and there is no ambiance in any of the public rooms, like the bar or dining room.
As the hotel has lots of history having been an officers mess during the war, for Canadian pilots. There is room for the bar to have items displayed to increase the ambiance and add character.i.e. propellers, blades on the wall and general colour scheme of warmth rather than the dull brown of walls and furniture.
Breakfast was a disgrace, with same items served each day. Cereal was stale and a cardboard substitute would be a good description of it. The scrambled eggs were poor and very possibly reconstituted or a packet item and the bacon was always cold. On the last day I requested a fried egg, which when it arrived was drowning in oil. The evening meal - this was the first time in a hotel I have ever been offered fruit juice as an option for a starter. The chicken main course on the 2nd night was dry, tasteless and almost everyone returned it to the kitchen. The food was so bad and unappetizing that we did not go for the dinner on the last night at all.
The staff were polite and courteous, but too few in number and we once had to leave the bar and go to reception to ask for service - at 9:15 in the evening!!
I could never entertain going to this establishment again, even if they paid me.

Room Tip: Buy a tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charleschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi charleschris
Thankyou for your comments during your recent stay.Iam sorry about the confusion with your room as any requests are usually on the agents rooming list I am pleased our staff rectified it for you.I spoke to housekeeping about the towels and as the room we moved you to was spare only one set of towels were allocated to the room I am surprised you did not mention this over the three nights as it could have been easily rectified.As you could see extensive refurbishment is under way including rooms and carpets which is ongoing.I was surprised you did not view the RCAF items on various walls in the bar and reception as the press cuttings and photographs and military items always generate a lot of interest and we are very proud of them.As with the majority of hotels full english breakfast is standard and we feel our selection of eggs,bacon sausage beans tomatoes mushrooms and hash browns gives our guests a good choice every morning along with the juices and white or wholemeal toast.Iam sorry you did not enjoy the chicken breast in sauce but having spoken to the staff who looked after your tour the feedback seemed very positive and we recieved nothing negative from the tour guide over the three days.

Regards
Kim Raynor
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darlington hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Attended my friends wedding at the hotel wasn't sure what to expect after reading the reviews, we arrived at the hotel late Thursday evening what a
Pleasant surprise the history is amazing. The wedding breakfast was fantastic food was great and the service from Kym (male) was top dollar also dj jo played great music Will be back when visiting family

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenmads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review we are so pleased you enjoyed the wedding reception
We hope to see you on your next visit to family

Kind regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on my own, the rooms were Clean, friendly staff, good variety of food, after reading other reviews was slightly worried but for my £39 room only I was pleasantly surprised! Will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachandambb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review rachandamnb we hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed for one night with my partner, we was visiting Durham & surrounding area. Check in was very straightforward. Our room was very clean,so no issue there. The heated towel rail in the bathroom was very hot, there was no sign or no way of turning it down, this made the room very hot also-the bathroom was in need of a make over my only criticism of the place. To say it is next to an airport we had no issue with noise. Would say again for the price we paid it was very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Me2uali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review Me2uali

We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights mid way between Middlesbrough and Darlington. We wanted to be near both so location good. However, not much around the immediate area. Arrived about 3pm and when we went to the room it had not been cleaned from past clients. Yes, they were busy and it was a Bank Holiday weekend so staff shortage. We were offered a room to clean up and that was good. Car parking facilities good on site and we were adjacent to the Durham Tees air terminal. Interested to see the airport fully secured by the most expensive of fences with an access gate to the hotel wide open all the time we were there. Not good security for airport or hotel. Our room was large but at night the water in the pipes was constantly running. Mentioned to hotel and told it was always like it but they were looking at improvements. Not great sleep. Bathroom tiny and do not step back too far or you burn your self on very hot towel rail - on at all times. There is a tiny exhibit area to the Fighter and Bomber Squadrons but by the time we left the cap and gloves on the model had disappeared. Not likely to return but staff friendly

Room Tip: We had Room 17 in the Spitfire area - try another one - Room 2 is a twin on ground and looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review Alan, We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and inprove the quality of service we offer to guest.

All rooms are in progress of an upgrade to standard of room 2.

Kind regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just staying one night was enough, we had booked a double room but found it was two single beds pushed together so the headboard and lights were just out of line with the bed! The toiletries were those dreadful squeeze dispensers. The heat in the hotel bedrooms and public areas was stifling to say the least.Breakfast was ok but just not enough to go round and replenishment was virtually non existent.
Staff were pleasant but because there were so few of them the service at the bar and in the restaurant was very slow.
This used to be a good hotel but this time it seemed to be in it's death throws waiting for someone to finally declare it dead!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruff100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review ruff 100 I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you encountered during your stay here at The St George, Its our intention at all times to ensure our guest have an enjoyable stay, therefore I'm disappointed that you did not.
Has you have been to the hotel before and believe this be in deaths throw I'm disappointed that the work that has been completed refurbishment of restaurant, Lounge & bar area and on going work of bedrooms and corridors wasn’t noticed .

Once again thank you for your review and all comments have been taken on board

Kind regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#13 of 21 in Darlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
5.4 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#9 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
5.4 mi away
Harrowgate Hill Lodge
Harrowgate Hill Lodge
#18 of 21 in Darlington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Property: St George Hotel
Address: Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington DL2 1RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing