We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St George Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have returned from a fantastic weekend at this hotel where we were staying for a family celebration
The hotel was lovely and peaceful despite being near the airport
The service was second to none and the rooms were great all in all we all enjoyed and will be back again soon
Thanks to you all for making it a great weekend

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillip o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Front Office Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Philip Thank you for a lovely review. im glad you had a nice stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the St George Hotel.

Kind Regards
Tracey Mellor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    69
    67
    23
    14
See reviews for
40
69
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

A nice homely hotel, ideally situated at the airport. Being part of a former RAF base, there are a lot of interesting exhibits and information on display. Upon arrival, I received a warm welcome and lovely smile from Joanne. This approach continued throughout my stay, with both Joanne and Danny proving to be extremely helpful, always with an "it's no bother" attitude. All i all, a place i will definitely use again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bluetooner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Front Office Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review i will pass on your comments to Danny & Joanne. Our aim is to always provide 100% customer satisfaction. i apreciate the time tou have taken to write this review and welcome you back to the hotel anytime.

Kind Regards
Tracey Mellor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Clean & tidy hotel. Very good value for what we paid & we didn't have to pay extra for the dog to stay. When we arrived our room was on the 1st floor. We explained that our dog had spinal problems & the staff immediately moved us into a room on the ground floor. The also let us have a late checkout at no extra charge.Customer service was excellent, Incredibly friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_W_1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Front Office Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Anna Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on the St George Hotel. we pride ourselves on giving 100% customer satisfaction im glad you had a comfortable stay.

Kind Regards
Tracey Mellor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is an old-school type hotel located 2 minute walk of the Aiport. The hotel need a full integrated renewal if wants to keep doors open for longer time. Staff was helpfull and kind all the time, but some more personnel will probably be needed to run the show properly, Breakfast is very poor quality and there is no facilites at all. I will try to avoid it unless strictly necessary. The cost of the room is about 50 GBP.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Front Office Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
HI Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment program in bedrooms and all public areas are been painted. The hotel was once a officers mess so we do not have much scope altering the outside of the hotel.

All off your points have been noted andaction will be taken

Kind Regards
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darlington hotels

devon,england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here as part of a coach trip in June 2013. Our bedroom wasn't cleaned properly with full rubbish bins, a dirty bathroom sink and the previous occupants toothpaste still on the glasses. The worst thing was that both our mattresses had large urine stains on them about a metre in diameter-these had been covered up with an old blanket. The service in the dining room was slow and we waited up to fifteen minutes in order to get a drink at the bar. The staff did their best when we complained but the problems were obvious before we got there. The history attached is really good but the hotel is tired, dirty and in need of renovation and a good team of staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueDevon_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, Front Office Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment program in bedrooms we have just had new beds delivered, and all public areas are being painted at present

I have taken on board all your comments and spoken to house keeping to ensure rooms are cleaned correctly.

Kind Regards
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first 3 nights of our holiday. It is listed as a 3 star hotel, but that needs to be reviewed. The rooms were fairly clean but needed updating. Had to ask for towels as there was only one set in the room which had 3 beds!! Breakfast was very expensive if you hadn't pre-booked. On one occasion we returned to the hotel and no-one was on duty at reception, I had to go into the bar and ask for our room key, not very professional. On the plus side the staff were very friendly. Also, considering it was next to the airport we were not disturbed by noise so managed to get a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building may be quieter as they are further away from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbyJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thankyou for your comments during your recent stay with us.I have taken on board your views and have addressed the issue with the towels with the head housekeeper and this was an oversight.We pride ourselves in having staff trained to work in every department and am sorry this appears to have caused you a problem on this occasion.We are currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment of the hotel and would hope that you would visit us again to recieve the type of service we pride ourselves in

Joanne Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The St George promises much as a guest, but fails. We have 4 lights not working, the shower would not run warm, let alone hot. The bedroom was in need of decorating. The TV however - although we did not use it much - was a very large modern one! Breakfast - food was OK, but self service. However, there was no one on duty in the Breakfast room - the poor receptionist had to come through to deal with us and fetch our tea!!!
This place is in need of a cash injection to sort it out and some good signage from the main roads etc. Then it could be a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank KennyC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us . I am sorry you encountered some issues during your stay.We are currently in the middle of an extensive improvement scheme and would hope you would visit us again to see how the improvements have addressed the issues you had and make it a lovely place to stay

Joanne Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#13 of 21 in Darlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
5.4 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel and Spa - Darlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Property: St George Hotel
Address: Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington DL2 1RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing