We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay - very helpful staff”
Review of Devonport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devonport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Darlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were only there one night, but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Not an area we travel to much, but would stay again if going that way. Evening meal and breakfast were both good and more than we could eat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RacingToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed on a Saturday night, check in was straight forward and the room was clean, spacious and a really nice size. We had an afternoon snack in the enclosed beer garden which was child friendly which was ideal when we had an unexpected visit from our son and his family, the grandchildren enjoyed the playhouse.
We eat in the hotel on the evening and the food was superb, starting with the antipasto platter followed by the ribeye steak very very nice, highly recommended.
Our breakfast the following morning was more than adequate and filled us up for the day ahead. All in all this is a really lovely hotel with excellent staff,food and service. I would highly recommend you visit. The owner Anthony was on site throughout our stay and runs an excellent hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Friendly welcome on arrival and good first impressions overall of the hotel. We had a lovely lunch in the pretty courtyard area to the rear which even on a dull day was a great place to relax. Our bedroom on the front looked out onto open fields and is very pleasant, the room is a good size and very clean, we were informed that further refurbishment was planned making it an even more comfortable stay. Regarding the food both the lunch and dinner menu offer a good range and the quality that we experienced was very good (steak/pork) and would recommend the antipasto platter for 2, a real treat to the eyes. Service is attentive but not intrusive, and the overall ambience of the place is vibrant. Would not hesitate to stay again and look forward to another visit soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandyM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, on arrival we were greeted by friendly and welcoming staff, and the service continued to be excellent throughout our stay. The rooms are comfy and very clean. We also had dinner which was absolutely beautiful. Definitely recommend the rib eye steak! It was cooked to perfection. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucylu152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here in June for 1night and was very pleasantly surprised, the hotel is very quaint and quirky, which is so much more interesting then the run of the mill chain budget hotels, we ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious, it was busy but our service was still 10/10, our room was fine, more than we expected and spotless clean. We got talking to the new owner and were fascinated with his plans for the hotel, will return in the future as its in a beautiful location and the hotel and staff and its quirkiness make it one to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 81Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel was quite cheap £55 for a Saturday night and we were impressed by the standard as we weren't expecting much. There was a computer glitch with our booking but the reception team solved it for us with minimal fuss. We had dinner there that night which was tasty. The breakfast was fabulous and kept us going for hours! The décor was a bit outdated but we overheard someone mention a refurb was planned.

Will return if we ever need a hotel in that area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was at the Devonport 6 months ago, and visited again this weekend, and I have to say what a difference! We were greeted by a newly re-decorated building which gives it a modern look but keeps it in taste with the rest of the village. The staff were very friendly and welcoming upon arrival and throughout the whole of the weekend. We had breakfast & evening meals and the food was superb on all occasions, however the best part of our time at The Devonport was being able to retire to the newly refurbished courtyard at the rear of the building after dinner to relax in the sun & have a few drinks which were never left empty by the attentive staff working both evenings. And it only costs £55 per room per night B&B, which leaves plenty of money for beer & wine.

Overall, we had an excellent experience and will be recommending the Devonport to our friends & family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balm208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
6.4 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
817 reviews
4.5 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
881 reviews
4.6 mi away
Balmoral Guest House Darlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Greenbank Hotel
Greenbank Hotel
#7 of 19 in Darlington
42 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel 119
Hotel 119
#6 of 19 in Darlington
13 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonport Hotel

Address: 16-18 The Front | Middleton One Row, Darlington DL2 1AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Darlington
Price Range: $65 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Devonport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing