We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we chose this hotel”
Review of Devonport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Devonport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Darlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So glad we chose this hotel”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, on arrival we were greeted by friendly and welcoming staff, and the service continued to be excellent throughout our stay. The rooms are comfy and very clean. We also had dinner which was absolutely beautiful. Definitely recommend the rib eye steak! It was cooked to perfection. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucylu152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    57
    17
    10
    2
See reviews for
31
92
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here in June for 1night and was very pleasantly surprised, the hotel is very quaint and quirky, which is so much more interesting then the run of the mill chain budget hotels, we ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious, it was busy but our service was still 10/10, our room was fine, more than we expected and spotless clean. We got talking to the new owner and were fascinated with his plans for the hotel, will return in the future as its in a beautiful location and the hotel and staff and its quirkiness make it one to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 81Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel was quite cheap £55 for a Saturday night and we were impressed by the standard as we weren't expecting much. There was a computer glitch with our booking but the reception team solved it for us with minimal fuss. We had dinner there that night which was tasty. The breakfast was fabulous and kept us going for hours! The décor was a bit outdated but we overheard someone mention a refurb was planned.

Will return if we ever need a hotel in that area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was at the Devonport 6 months ago, and visited again this weekend, and I have to say what a difference! We were greeted by a newly re-decorated building which gives it a modern look but keeps it in taste with the rest of the village. The staff were very friendly and welcoming upon arrival and throughout the whole of the weekend. We had breakfast & evening meals and the food was superb on all occasions, however the best part of our time at The Devonport was being able to retire to the newly refurbished courtyard at the rear of the building after dinner to relax in the sun & have a few drinks which were never left empty by the attentive staff working both evenings. And it only costs £55 per room per night B&B, which leaves plenty of money for beer & wine.

Overall, we had an excellent experience and will be recommending the Devonport to our friends & family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balm208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

On arrival to the Devonport we were greeted with scaffolding all around the building, hoping for a better experience when we arrived we were hit by the smell of rotten fish from the resteraunt area, on top of this we waited a good few minutes to be served as both the hotel side of the establishment and the resteraunt/bar area are ran by the same staff team.

We were greeted by a very polite and helpful young man that took us to our room however we chose to change the room as me and my partner would have preferred a double bed the young man was very accommodating with our request and proceeded to show me a room downstairs after I said the rooms don't reflect the pictures on the website, I was greeted with a satisfactory room with an ant infestation in the bathroom so off we went to find another, the next room we were taken to was more suitable however upon inspection we discovered it hadn't been cleaned from the previous occupants and the bins had not been emptied, rust was in the bath and pubic hair was in the bed!! Clearly disgusted and understandably unhappy we consulted reception and were greeted with the same young man that offered his apologies and took us to another room. The room was what you expect in a pub it was fairly tidy, and had quite a large t.v. We were given a free bottle of wine and a free late check out for our bad experience.

If it wasn't for the helpful staff member with fantastic customer service skills we would have left.

I would definitely not recommend this hotel on any level and this experience has encouraged me to stick to chain hotels where a standardised service in relation to cleanliness has been carried out. Can I add the second room we were placed in with the hairs in the bed was being occupied by bar staff until they kindly moved however this was not tidy and beds wernt made so we moved to another room.

It was a shame as a lick of paint and a deep clean and the hotel would be up to scratch!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodieleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
1,073 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have lived in Middleton St George for over three years but had never been for a meal here. But having now experienced an evening meal in June 2013 we wish we'd not bothered.

The front of the hotel has scaffolding. Clearly some investment going on. It's needed too, the front of the hotel is rather attractive but inside it is tired and dated.

Our first impressions weren't enhanced by the buckets on the bar capturing water dripping from the ceiling. Inside the atmosphere was a mix of a country pub and working men's club. Rather strange but we'd come here for thbe food. The staff were all very young and a little lacking in attentiveness and confidence.

We ordered steak and ale pie, and chicken with pamesan (about £8 each). The steak and ale pie comes with mash as standard but they substituted this for chips om request. Portion sizes reasonable but what let the experience down was the taste and quality of the food being forgettable.

Overall, the experience was poor and the food a similar standard unfortunately. This is despite many positive reviews, including from neighbours who go for food more regularly, If you want a decent pub, with a decent atmosphere, and with decent grub, I'm afraid we can't recommend this place.

We've had a couple of meals at The Oak Tree - about two miles away - and the foot is much better, particularly their steak and ale pie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeedeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Lovely Sunday Lunch: even though we hadn't booked (there were three of us) they managed to get us in to the busy restaurant. Good food and great Ale. Lovely views across the Green and banks to the River Tees. At this time of year (July) the scent of the lime trees on The Front is delightful. From the front door of the hotel ake a stroll along the river via Church Lane and smell the delicious fragrance of the lime trees along the way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenityofgaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
8.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
4.5 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
788 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
365 reviews
4.1 mi away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#9 of 21 in Darlington
154 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonport Hotel

Property: Devonport Hotel
Address: 16-18 The Front | Middleton One Row, Darlington DL2 1AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Devonport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing