We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal and overnight stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Raby Hunt Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 19 Darlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Inn, choosing the tasting menu with matching wines and to ensure we had a relaxed evening, stayed the night too. It was just one of those evenings when everything went right - gorgeous food, friendly, knowledgeable staff and enough other diners to make it buzzy but not over-crowded. Our succession of small dishes were great: lamb, pigeon, venison (especially wonderful) plus scallop and sole - and two puds. It was well worth having the acompanying wines - introduced us to some new combinations. The upstairs accommodation is warm, comfortable and stylish - very good shower with bath too for those who prefer it. Its great to have this restaurant with rooms in our area and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MajaTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 77 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

A treat for our wedding anniversary, the Raby Hunt was truly exceptional. A sober, calm, elegant decor. Charming, efficient and helpful staff. The food was really excellent, we had scallops, pigeon, bream and duck, all of them delicious. The rice pudding with mulled fruit a little disappointing, the flavours and textures delicious, but not a great deal of fruit for my taste. An interesting, varied and very good wine list as well. We shall be back for our next special occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed overnight as was eating in the restaurant (Food fab). Room very comfortable - Nice and warm - No traffic noise - Breakfast very good - Eggs cooked just the way I requested. My husband had a full cooked breakfast which was very good. Great coffee. Staff exceptional.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winston100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had the most wonderful meal here. We tried the Taster Menu and it was absoutely divine. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was out of this world. I hope to return very soon. They have a Michelin Star which is very impressive seeing as the Chef is self taught. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EvelynArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The food is cooked perfectly and the atmosphere is very intimate. We had the ox cheek and duck to start both delicious followed by venison and pork, could not fault the food. We choose cheese for dessert, perfect end to the meal.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Amazing, James the chef is self taught and only over the past 3 years and gains a Michelin star, unbelievable! The owners his mum and dad are waiters and excellent too. We had the best hand dived scallop ever, pork chop with smoked pureed potato, beef roast and chocolate log. We will return very soon, fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank thefooddood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We took two visitors from Jersey here for lunch today and relied on TA reviews as we hadn't had time to sample this place before we booked. It's in a small attractive village and the Inn looks welcoming from the outside. The car park is small but there is plenty of parking on-street as it's a quiet location. We were warmly welcomed and shown into a very pleasant restaurant. Two of us had starters of ox cheek which was declared to be so good I must try that next time. The portions were small but the roast beef and roast pork were just the right size. I don't like gravy but I love their gravy! Then came the bit where we all drooled - the Raby chocolate bar with popcorn icecream. This was truly wonderful and I cannot wait to eat it again! We finished with the cheeseboard. A very varied selection, well thought out and presented; it was difficult to make a choice. Our visitors, who have access to some excellent restaurants in Jersey, were very impressed and my husband and I will certainly be going back soon. If you want large platefuls of food at 2 courses for £10 or less then look elsewhere there is plenty of choice locally but if you want great flavours, carefully cooked and beautifully presented then go here. The service was attentive and knowledgeable but not pushy. A wonderful addition to the dining scene in a culinary desert.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darlington hotels
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#5 of 21 in Darlington
419 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
1.3 mi away
Balmoral Guest House Darlington
3.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raby Hunt Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raby Hunt Inn & Restaurant

Address: Summerhouse Nr. Darlington, Darlington DL2 3UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Darlington
Price Range: $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raby Hunt Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing