We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place, wish I could go more often”

The Raby Hunt Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 271 Restaurants in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
County Durham, yes thats in England up north somewhere
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Love this place, wish I could go more often”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I was very excited that the north east finally has a michelin star restaurant, and not only that its only a 10 min drive from where we live and so far I have been here 3 times, twice for lunch and once for dinner. I have sampled both the taster lunch and dinner menus as well as from the lunch set menu. Every time and every course has been sublime, even the canapes while waiting for the table are to die for. Service is also the best but without being too stiff and stuffy or in your face, they make you feel comfortable so that your happy to spend a few hours there. I would definitely recommend the wine matching with dinner too. Cant wait to go back again soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel_Rayray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    48
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best place to come when leaving the children at home”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is our restaurant of choice when we have those rare occasions when we leave the children at home.

Food is gorgeous, the staff make you feel at home - not what you expect of this style and quality of restaurant but exactly what you want.

I can't fault any meal or indeed course we have had here.

A must try!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcaslte Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Impeccable dining experience.”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is the second time my hubby and I have ate here and it was as good as the first. It has a Michelin star for a reason, quite simply the food is outstanding and the service is perfect, the staff really make you feel special. This place is completely unpretentious for those expecting any snobbery due to the star they have. It really is the best restaurant we have been to!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theexplorer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently outstanding”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have been so lucky to have now eaten here twice.

Our last meal at the Raby Hunt was undoubtedly the best we had eaten in the UK so it was with great anticipation and just a little trepidation that we returned for another special occasion. Could this meal be as exceptional as the last time? It was a pleasant surprise to discover that despite a relatively short timescale, we had a whole new eating experience to come, as the tasting menu had been completely revamped. James Close is clearly a chef that pays attention to seasonality.

The next three hours passed only too quickly as one taste sensation followed another. Who would have thought artichoke skin could be so delicious, especially when combined with a ragout of venison which you wanted to savour again and again. A course of mussels that perfectly recalled the taste of the sea, smoked eel with cherry and beetroot, combining sweet, earthy and rich flavours. Halibut garnished with crispy kale, the iron flavour so good with perfectly cooked fish with a garnish of powdered spinach and smoked roe. Quail breast and thigh with a ragout of offal with pickled veg, it just got better and better.

With one of us abstinent for Lent and the other driving, a wine pairing was out of the question but 2 small glasses possible. The Austrian white suggested was stunning and really went well with the first four courses. The red needed a bit of time to settle but matched the pork main course beautifully.

In the past we have eaten many a good meal that ended with a disappointing dessert, but not at the Raby Hunt. On the night both offerings were stunning, lemon thyme and a chocolate feast served with a popcorn ice cream so good I wanted to buy a tub of it. When nothing more could be scraped from the plate and the spoons finally set down we had to reluctantly accept that another great eating experience had ended leaving us replete but not uncomfortably full.

Once again a fantastic meal, as good if not better than the last visit. We will definitely be back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal and service”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We came here for a birthday treat and were not disappointed. The service from the outset was friendly and welcoming but in no way overbearing as can sometimes happen in similar restaurants. We had the five course menu and they catered brilliantly for my wife who doesn't eat meat. Each course was delightful and it was hard to pick a favourite. The dishes had the perfect balance of simplicity with some interesting twists to take them far beyond a standard meal. The eel and beetroot with cherry was incredible and the lamb main dish was perfectly cooked. Service throughout the meal was just right, attentive but we didn't feel interrupted or overly fussed upon. The wine was expensive as would be expected but very good indeed as was the champagne we had beforehand. We will be recommending the restaurant to anyone planning a special meal and we would love to return in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raby Hunt Restaurant also viewed

Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 
Darlington, County Durham
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 

Been to The Raby Hunt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing