We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Raby Hunt Restaurant”

The Raby Hunt Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 269 Restaurants in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Raby Hunt Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The food was excellent. It was a brilliant meal at a very reasonable cost. The service was very good. There was ample parking space. The interior decor was beautiful and the overall setting a very pleasant atmosphere for dining. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Usha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    48
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
198 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A complete fine dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was a wonderful night out with friends, enjoying not just an excellent tasting menu with creative and delicious food, but also being served by friendly knowledgeable staff who were passionate about food and wine. It made it a real pleasure. The setting is pleasant and the tables comfortable, although if you wanted to be picky you might argue there could be a little more space between tables. The amuses were all very tasty, and then we had the concept dishes: fresh water followed by salt water. These consisted of eel and beetroot, and bream mussel and fennel, and were superb. The rest of the menu kept up the same standard, and the matching wines were indeed an excellent accompaniment, although the main list included many tempting and good value fine wines. The cheese course might have seemed expensive at £13.95, but it was well worth it - one of the best cheese courses I've had in a restaurant. Looking forward to going back soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikePatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A food oasis in the middle of the countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a real homely feeling restaurant, family run where you can ask about the journey they've been on and talk about the food and sample some of the very clever creations from a self taught entrepreneurial chef who got his mitchelin star in 3 years, and you'll see why if you go.

We have dined twice now and had the tasting menu each time. The wine menu is carefully picked by the chef and you can tell that he has a real taste for fine food.

Having been to a few mitchelin starred places, it can get all a bit stuffy and over the top and James and his team / family take all of that pomp and circumstance out of it while keeping all the beauty and deliciousness. It's like farmhouse dining with a mitchelin chef.

I wont go into all the different practices they use to painstakely deliver delicious food, but they're all there, from sous vide, drying, smoking, all served beautifully and perfectly balanced. A lot of mitchelins try too hard to be clever, but James menu is simple and accessible. He balances flavours so well and anyone who can deliver rhubarb in three ingenious ways on the same plate is a master. (one was a beautiful clear disc of rhubarb jelly with vanilla seeds, and another dehydrated rhubarb like intensely flavoured crumbs) The Venison was from the estate and was delicious, and the razor clam was very memorable as was the dehydrated crispy cod (I think?!) skin like a delicious sophisticated crisp. Too many dishes to go into.

The service is very attentive, and the dining is cosy, in a beautifully decorated large room with the small kitchen on the side. (I was lucky enough to be allowed to tour the kitchen and how they do it in that small space I don't know, but the staff must all be VERY familiar lol)

Anyway, it's in the middle of no where (it feels like) and is in a beautiful stone house and is well worth a visit for a special occasion. We've been back twice and we make a pilgrimage to this restaurant every time we're up in the area once a year.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tristan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best meal ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I treated ourselves to the seven-course taster menu. There were lots of things on the menu that I thought I wouldn't like, such as razor clams and ox tongue but the food was exquisite in taste and presentation. Really quite the best food I have eaten in my life. A wonderful meal with each dish presented and explained to you throughout by one of the chefs. A warm, intimate venue which I would love to go back to...roll on another family celebration! If you haven't been, it's really worth pushing the boat out to experience it. I understand they are also continually creating and experimenting with new dishes and ingredients.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fayezeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked our table to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had been before the previous year. The standards remain excellent a year on. There was a warm welcome on arrival and we were remembered from the year before. The menu has if anything got better with a new 9 course tasting menu which we could not resist.

The service was excellent throughout the meal with the sommelier giving interesting insights into the wine chosen to accompany the food. The atmosphere was very comfortable and relaxed but still maintained a sense of occasion.

The food was wonderful. Inspired by simplicity but with a thought process that transcended. Particular highlights included the artichoke, the lamb and the quail.

In short, we had an amazing time and will definitely be returning!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raby Hunt Restaurant also viewed

Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 
Darlington, County Durham
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 

Been to The Raby Hunt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing