We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A-MAZ-ING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raby Hunt Restaurant

The Raby Hunt Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 266 Restaurants in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North east
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A-MAZ-ING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed over last night had a fantastic time. From when we arrived until we left this morning it was fabulous. Front of house is extremely friendly, no stuffy service here. We had the tasting menu + numerous extra nibbles and it was exquisite. Highly recommended for a treat.
PS I doubt the negative reviewer ever stepped in the restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tabby101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    48
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This Restaurant is outstanding. Despite this being our 4th Visit, it never fails to impress. The quality of the food and service bears comparison to any fine dining experience anywhere.
I note that a recent review has been negative, I must add, and i have no link to this restaurant, but if you look at the quality and content of the review,it says more about the reviewer than their supposed criticism. The fact they won't be back i take as a blessing!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank storry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One word - WOW!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My sisters and I visited the restaurant for the first time last night and were simply blown away by the whole experience. Welcoming and attentive staff, food to absolutely die for and a taste experience that left you wanting more!!! A big thank you to James for cooking food for us that will keep us coming back again and again.


Catherine Jowett

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu - WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Lunch today at this great place - 2nd visit which was just as good as the first - Front of house as good as anywhere we have have been - Including some 3* restaurants - What can I say about the food except that it was just superb - The tasting menu is exceptional and we will for sure be back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank winston100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the initial greeting to the final farewell we had a wonderful evening.We had the taster menu which was outstanding.The textures and tastes were gorgeous as was the presentation.The staff were all passionate and proud of the restaurant --so they should be.
Well done James we shall definitely be back -thank-you all for your hard work

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ClevelandSmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raby Hunt Restaurant also viewed

Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 
Darlington, County Durham
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Raby Hunt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing