We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well advised to eat here :-)”
Review of The Tapas Bar

The Tapas Bar
Ranked #11 of 271 Restaurants in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well advised to eat here :-)”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

From start to finish a great experience, from friendly accomodating staff to good food. My two youngsters and I ate here on a busy Christmas eve and its somewhere I'd revisit again certainly :-D

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    92
    18
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“impressed”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Really good atmosphere, friendly service and amiable host.
Having once owned an award winning tapas bar in Harrogate, I was very impressed, the combination of Greek Meze and Spanish Tapas works really well, wonderful Morcilla although the sauce for the Pollo Chilindron could have been a bit deeper in flavour. Good house red ( french ).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimSharpe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Darlington!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Does not fail to disappoint! Amazing! Been here many times, never been disappointed. Food is and service is amazing and they serve real ale! What more could you want!

Helpful?
Thank Umbrella_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Tapas Bar”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have been in Darlington all my life and never tried it until recently and i have been back almost three times.

Food and service is top notch, people a friendly and they serve real ale!.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere ”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We hadn't visited since the summer when we enjoyed an afternoon outside, so decided to pop in on spec on a Saturday when in town with friends. What a super evening we had. The staff are so friendly and welcoming even though it was packed with rugby watchers.

We ordered 13 dishes and they were all superb, but the atmosphere really makes this place. You feel welcome, it's fun and lively and the staff know their business and cope with the on spec nature of the place brilliantly.

We ordered everything from salads and veggie to prawns and stifado and we loved it. We won't leave it so long next time!

Helpful?
Thank MsXXH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tapas Bar also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing