We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap experience. Would not go back”
Review of Reema Contemporary

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Reema Contemporary
Ranked #84 of 277 Restaurants in Darlington
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crap experience. Would not go back”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Recommended but very disappointed. Usually go to the Shapla on North Road wish we had. Staff at Reema were extremely rude we were told to be quiet unjustifiably so as we were quiet and the restaurant was empty. Very disappointing and will never come back and shall not recommend. Don't go to this restaurant if you want to enjoy yourself. Left without paying manager very rude. Went to our usual Shapla, staff were extremely friendly and helpful as usual. Had a really good evening. Food excellent as usual.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Minnes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

What more can be said. Regularly use this restaurant, and am always impressed by the food and friendliness and attitude of the staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DarloAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything about this place is immaculate”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The staff are polite and helpful - and immaculatey dressed. The food is perfect (so much so that I took home what I had left in a doggy bag and it still tasted delicious the day after). The naans are oustanding - and massive. We shared one between the three of us!! We now make a regular visit to Reema and have never yet been disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasteless.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We normally go to Akbar Dynasty for Indian food but decided to try Reemas as it we were in town. It really was a mistake. We were seated in what seems to be the entrance hall, stuffed into a tiny window seat almost on top of the next table. The couple next to us obviously were on a first date and we all felt uncomfortable as our conversations were completely audible to other tables.
We placed our order and a selection of poppadoms and sauces arrived so we started to eat those. A few minutes passed and our starters arrived...really quick service! Unfortunately, they whipped away the poppadoms while I was still eating them, the plate dissapearing as I was struggling to put the remaining bits back on it. The onion Bhajis werre a nice size but it was just like eating a ball of wool. No taste whatsoever.
Then the main offering was brought out. I went for chicken jalfrezi while the others had a chicken tikka balti. There was absolutely no taste at all in any of them. The chicken had not been marinated at all as it was still white even on the outside and the sauce was mainly made up of food colouring and oil. We actually got bored of eating it, it was just like eating plain boiled chicken.
As time went on, the takeaway side of things picked up. This meant flocks of people walking in right next to the tables and then they would stand and stare at our food while waiting for theirs to come out. The stench of cigarette smoke and B.O. on many of them was too overpowering so we just got the bill and left. Not a word of thanks, goodbye, how was it....nothing from the staff.
This place is only fit for a takeaway and a really bad one at that. Dont even venture there as you will be dissapointed and wasted your money.Back to the Akbar soon as possible!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walkeand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so good we went twice in one weekend!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Excellent restaurant, great staff, great choice of food, fantastic food, I cant praise this place enough, if we dd go back to Darlington we would be returning here

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank guinness1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reema Contemporary also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to Reema Contemporary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing