We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ervine Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Darlington, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo H
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A lovely cottage in a beautiful setting. Very clean and lovely decor. Everything we needed was provided and more. A Welcome pack was provided with Milk, Orange Juice, homemade jam,butter,bread,biscuits,cheese,sweets. The owner kept in touch before our visit and was very friendly and helpful when we arrived. The local village pub served lovely food at reasonable prices but check opening times first. All in all an excellent break and I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“a little shangri-la”
Reviewed October 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great cottage in lovely peaceful surroundings.Plenty of interesting places to visit and things to do in the surrounding area.
The owners were friendly and helpful and supplied us with a welcome pack and goodies that we really appreciated.
Good places to eat locally and really you couldn`t say a bad word about this cottge.
We have every intention of returning in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manxie73
Isle of Man
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect peace and quiet”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Ervine Cottage in August 2017 and I can honestly say that out of all the UK based self catering accommodations we have stayed in this is the best. We are a family of five so the 3 bedrooms suited us down to the ground. The cottage is a new build/barn conversion and was clean, modern and everything felt new. The location was very peaceful being at the end of a lane with fantastic views across the countryside. It was very private and you did not feel overlooked by the owner. Barbara and David were perfect hosts, so friendly and helpful. The welcome supplies were impressive, fresh bread, homemade cakes, jam, milk, eggs etc. The cottage is a 2 minute drive from the village of Bolam and Bolam is well placed for access to the M1 and the A66/67 so we used this as a base for exploring the north of England. We visited Durham, Newcastle, Alnwick, Whitby, Hadrian's Wall, Ullswater and Swaledale. Thanks also to their daughter Claire who provided the email communication and some lovely Cornflake Tart!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing