We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff, and a good meal”
Review of Oriel Cafe Restaurant - CLOSED

Oriel Cafe Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: independant family restaurant on Poole quay with views of poole harbour. One of two restaurants (the other one is called Coffee Club Westbourne) All the staff work very hard to provide a good experience and hope that you enjoy your visit, and return to visit us again. We are committed to providing a good experience for the local people of Poole which is our main aim, and of course providing a good experience to Poole Quay for visitors, so that you will return.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have had an excellent meal, brought to me by very friendly staff. The chef was eager to explain what would be my best choice, and clearly passionate about his food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Maartenvdw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 261 of 411 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a lovely lunch today, just popped in to rest and refuel. We have eaten in the past at Oriel and therefore knew the quality of food / service would be good. Had salmon and prawn omelettes with cup of tea and again were not disappointed with the food quality / presentation and service. Attentive and friendly staff. Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Would not return here service was very slow considering it wasn't that busy. Dirty cutlery complained about this but waitress couldn't understand the problem. Shame because use to be a nice place to eat defiantly gone down hill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Steveyk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriel P, Manager at Oriel Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

At Oriel we take very seriously all the comments, but in our opinion you do not appear to be a genuine Tripadvisor Member, we believe you have created this account just to write this comment and we are pretty sure you will no use it again.

As well if you have been in Oriel several times WHY didn’t you create an account in the past to write something nice about us? for that reason we can not take you seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a lovely Saturday lunch there. The food was very good and good portions, which is a big plus, as we normally find mean portions at high prices.. Service was friendly and very efficient. We will definitely return.

2  Thank Katlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere to eat a late lunch (4pm) and found that quite a few restaurants were not serving food at this time. Although we were a little reluctant to go to a 'cafe' rather than a restaurant we were reassured as soon as we stepped inside. The premises were light, airy and clean and although it felt as if there were a couple of tables too many crammed into the space (I can imagine it being very busy in the summer) we were comfortable at our table by the window.
We shared nachos as a starter, the sour cream and salsa were delicious. My niece and I chose the King prawn stir fry as a main course which was fresh, tasty and delicious and felt like quite a healthy choice. My husband had the Oriel chicken burger which was fully loaded and came with chips and a side salad. The chicken breast was beautifully cooked and the chips were very moreish!
The food was reasonably priced and service was friendly and prompt.
We would definitely return if we holiday on the South coast again.

1  Thank Cobolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriel Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Lytchett Matravers, Poole
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing