We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous trip and fabulous hosts!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Saloon dining and galley
Aft deck dining
Flybridge
Aft master cabin
Yacht Calypso
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Poole, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Popple5
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous trip and fabulous hosts!”
Reviewed April 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

On the spur of the moment we booked an afternoon tea cruise aboard the Calypso motor yacht. What a great decision! Mark & Jo were fabulous hosts who ensured our experience was both enjoyable and memorable. Highly recommend this trip around the beautiful Poole harbour soaking in the sights.Wonderful!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
919sandra
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic yacht”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We spent a weekend on board Calypso to celebrate a milestone birthday with our two dogs. Mark was very accommodating and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The afternoon cruise to Brownsea Island and Old Harry Rocks was great.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
It was a great pleasure to welcome Sandra and Hayden aboard Calypso. They took the charter/accomodation package which worked brilliantly for Sandra's Birthday treat. Thanks guys hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wompa2015
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing day”
Reviewed December 21, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for a fantastic day out. You not only managed to give us excellent service but the surprise renewal of vows for my husband was absolutely magical and your tentative ways for making us feel like royalty was second to none. You certainly made it a day we will never forget and the photos you sent us were amazing. We wish you and your family a merry Christmas and will definitely be using your services again next year.
Kind regards Wendy and Darrell.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2016
Wendy and Darrell, thank you so much for a glowing review. We really enjoyed serving your special day , it was truly an honour. We are looking forward to welcoming you aboard again next year. Mark and Rosie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastalka...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a wonderful treat and experience”
Reviewed November 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic weekend on Calypso back in September. A total surprise for my husband who is mad about boats and the sea. The owner was very helpful and we had a really relaxing break. I was slightly concerned that Poole Quay maybe a little rowdy on the Friday and Saturday night but I needn't have been - it was so quiet and we slept very well. Lots of places to eat on The Quay but Calypso was well equipped for eating dinner on board. A wonderful place to sit and watch the world go by. We will stay again. Fantastic experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in except for our own!
Liked least: Nothing - everything was perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacation4...
1 review
“What Fun!”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We five girl friends stayed on Mark's boat to celebrate a summer birthday. Captain Mark was friendliness itself and also took us out for half a day round Brownsea Island, past Sandbanks and Old Harry Rocks to Swanage then back for lunch and a swim off Studland Bay. The accommodation is spacious and comfortable and the location on the Quay great for restaurants, pubs and shopping. Would recommend highly for a different sort of long weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the fact it moved!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2016
It is always a great joy when we see guests having such a wonderful break aboard Calypso. Thanks guys, we enjoyed having you stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wifi made for an easy life, beds super comfortable
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
It was a great pleasure to host Catherine and her delightful family. Hope to see you all again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
victoriaH...
hertford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful... Unique... Fun. Why Stay Anywhere Else?”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We found this wonderful gem via a well known holiday search engine - whilst looking for somewhere to stay this summer, near Sandbanks. I managed to track down the owner (Mark) via their website "Calypso Charters" as I needed to check the lower age limit for my young daughter.

Thankfully having children on board was not an issue (they are quite grown up 11 year old girls) so my best friend and I booked the boat for 5 nights and 6 days in August.

I have stayed on boats before so I was aware that it is not the same as a hotel room. There are limitations and considerations to be made but personally I find it a non-issue as the payoff of wide sweeping beautiful views and being gently rocked to sleep each night far outweigh anything else!

Calypso has four bedrooms and two bathrooms split between both ends of the boat. My daughter had a bunk room next to my double room. We shared the small bathroom too. At the other end of the boat was a single room, a large double and another bathroom (which my friend and her daughter shared). Between us all was a large living area/kitchen with a huge table - where we ate many a delicious meal (usually from the Quay!).

In the mornings we would eat our breakfast on the middle deck (a sun trap) and there is also a top deck, which we used to watch the Poole fireworks from on a Thursday night.

One day we chartered Calypso for an afternoons sailing, passing Brownsea Island, Studland, Sandbanks and all along the Jurassic Coast. Mark and his great 1st Mate Paul, anchored up off Studland and we all jumped off the back on the boat, played with inflatibles, went snorkelling and enjoyed the beautiful summer sun in this very unique spot.

Oh and the two children say its their best holiday ever (though this may have been influenced by the endless free Wifi!)

All in all, we had a wonderful holiday, with great hosts and we will be returning without doubt.

A quick tip... book through Marks website Calypso Charters as its cheaper than the search engines.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer service and location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2016
It was a great joy to host Victoria, Sandy and children this summer. Thanks for the kind review ! We look forward to seeing you for some more sunny times very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing