We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints here”
Review of Loch Fyne

Loch Fyne
Ranked #27 of 363 Restaurants in Poole
Price range: $42 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“No complaints here”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Reading some of the other reviews, we either went on a different night or a different restaurant! The staff were attentive and very very friendly. Loved the wooden interior, warm and welcoming. The prices were average, there are definitely more expensive around the area but if you want McDonalds prices then go there! We were in a party of friends, served on time, all had fish of some description and not one complaint around the table. If I had to be super critical then I would say perhaps the portions could be a tad larger but on the whole, enjoyed this restaurant very much.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benfold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    295
    154
    101
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fish heaven”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Not inexpensive, but the food quality and service was high. Good wines too. Fresh fish was offered. Nice restaurant layout and attentive staff too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WeirdFish63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdon Hills, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent choice and very good service.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Really enjoyed our visit to loch Fyne and returned the next night. Staff were very helpful and food was delicious. The restaurant is also a very peasant place to eat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Canford cliffs by name only”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

If this restaurant was bad enough there customers service is equally as bad as they dont even respond to their complaints. Twice visited in last few months and on both occasions have not had what is on the menu. Not talking about Turbot or seasonal fish , but the basics eg. potatoes, ice cream , cheese cake , bacon the list is endless. What they did have and on time was the bill. If you want the set menu be prepared to be told what you can eat as you will be choosing from their menu. Shall not be revisiting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good. But..!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

There's always a 'but'.

Loch fyne has a wonderful reputation for high quality and a delicious menu and on both counts we were very impressed. Equally impressive was the £12.50 3 course set meal that raised a few eyebrows given the higher end of restaurants that LF aims to be.

Four of us chose the set meal due to the variety of the menu and the great value and for the most part was very good. Soups, parfait of liver and the crab cakes were enjoyed as were the North Sea Dab, crab cakes and the Angus burger but unfortunately the seafood tagliatelle was a little disappointing with over-cooked fish and bland pasta.

Pudding-wise; sorbets, local ice cream and a rhubarb and custard cheesecake were nice but didn't hit the high quality stakes we'd been hoping for.

This is a harsh assessment of the meal as it was very nice for the price and the environment but I felt that a classic LF experience was lacking; little oversights of customer service, side orders coming a bit too long after the main had been served, interruptions whilst talking etc could have been avoided.

It won't put me off going back, not at all, but I will be conscious of these elements from this visit to shape my decision on timings and menu choice.

Helpful?
1 Thank tim_corke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne also viewed

 

Been to Loch Fyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing