We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, organised site with lots to do for kids and entertainment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon Hill Touring Park
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Poole
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, organised site with lots to do for kids and entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a family of 10 (3 adults, 3 teenagers and 4 young girls) and was allocated a large pitch, this was more than enough room for 1 very large tent, 2 smaller ones and 2 cars. It was at the back of the site but less than a minute walk to loos, showers and laundry, washing up room etc. all of which were of good standard and very clean.
Above these was a bar and games room, although we didn't go in much as too busy with other things it was nicely laid out and good for kids.
Very friendly reception and staff throughout the stay.
There are 2 different parks/adventure play grounds, plenty of play space, pool and a games room, bar, reception with small shop and a lovely lake where you can fish ... Kids loved it so we were happy!
Can't really fault it, bar was loud very late one night but think this was dealt with by staff as didn't happen again!
Very close to Poole and beach and tower park - all worth a visit!
Loved it!!! Will go back :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    48
    28
    30
    53
See reviews for
133
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Ok so we decided to visit Beacon Hill again this year as we like Poole and Bournemouth as a location. Having visited last year and enjoyed ourselves, we then read this years Tripadvisor Comments and couldnt believe things were that bad.
Well I went with my daughter and her mate and we had a FANTASTIC time...again.
One thing you need to bear in mind. This is a "Rustic" site. It dosent have fancy facilities that you may find in Haven or similar. It is amongst trees. Trees spread debris, mainly leaves. These sometimes fall into the outdoor pool, but that dosent make it dirty.
So rather than write a story I have listed GOOD and BAD points (quick fix things that the owners could do) ..... go visit and make up your own mind.
GOOD:-
- Location. Very close to Poole, Tower Park, Beaches etc
- Rustic - In amongst trees with loads of wildlife. It was lovely to have a visit from one of the prettiest and biggest Dragon Flys i have ever seen
- Staff - I found them friendly and obliging
- Pitches - overall in good order although some could do with a few months to recover....BUT I have seen WORSE at HAVEN IN PERRAN SANDS and that was double the money!
- Cost - Excellent value for money for Peak Season

COULD DO WITH LOOKING AT:-
- Another or Bigger amenity block. Its a big site and the top field should have its own.
- Bar / Takeaway / Games Room - Either make it more of a feature or do away with it altogether. Its nice to sit at your tent and have a BBQ and a few beers. But people do insist on these facilities so if you are going to feature them, make them better.
- Staff Presence. This is the only thing I think lacked big time. There was always staff in the shop but I never saw anyone patrolling the site, litter collections, night wardens etc. Go to a site in say somewhere like Brean Sands and there are always people around keeping an eye on things. Maybe the French Students staying there may have not been so noisy!

To me, Camping is all about getting back to nature. If you want fancy facilities book into a static on a Haven site etc. Beacon Hill tipped all the boxes and im sure we will be back next year.

Make sure if you are there in the Summer, you go see the weekly Fireworks Displays in Poole and Bournemouth!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Myself, 24yr old daughter, 15 yr old son & little dog, booked here to stay for 7 nights from the 12th of August, but stayed only one night.. What a filthy badly run sight. We were roughly told where our pitch was.We struggled to find a clean litter free piece of grass, eventually we set up our tent, and I went to use the toilet, children were running in and out looking under the toilets unsupervised, the toilets were dirty most not flushed. The showers were dirty and clogged with lime scale. there was only one hand dryer, and that was being used by some teenagers drying their clothes after being pushed n the pool. The hair dryers were broke and hanging off the wall.We chose this sight because it said dogs were not allowed off the lead, which was a joke, as dogs wondering around off the lead, and coming over to out tent sniffing around, driving my little dog mad, who by the way was tethered up at all times. It also stated that no noise allowed that would disturb other campers, but there was a party of youths that were up very late shouting and playing games. The also were sat around the toilet area smoking and running in and out of both toilets, my son went to use the toilet and there were both teenage boys and girls sat tin the boys toilets.It also states that no barbeques allowed to be light on the grass, another rule that is over looked. There was a group of young adults who light a fire outside out tent, with in about 2 foot away. This was after midnight, we couldnt sleep as we were afraid that the fire would spread to our tent. In the morning there was soot and cinders all over the side of out tent, and large bits of burned wood under our car. there was Mc Donalds empty cups and packaging left every where. The Pool was filthy and full of rubbish,the play area was once again full of unsupervised children and dogs doing as they pleased. The toilet and shower block was open without needing a key or code to get into, I went to use the toilet after 10pm and there were still small children playing in there,. This was the last straw, when I went to complain the next morning no one was there, nothing open. so we packed up and went. I phoned and eventually got through to a girl, who listened to my complaints, and said there was nothing she could do but as she had my booking number an mobile she would get the manager to ring me back as soon as he got in. Needless tho say that call never happened. We had traveled all the way fro West Yorkshire, and felt so let down as on paper this seemed to be a well run camp sight, but it was not. Now reading most of the reviews I would never have come here.Luckily we found a beautiful place Ullwell sight in Swanage, about half an hours drive away, and managed to book in there until Friday, It is a beautiful sight, run superbly, it is immaculate and was pure Heaven to go from a disgrace of a sight to one that was every thing it claimed to be.So my advice to anyone tempted to go to Beacon Hill, STOP..and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived to find a group already on our pitch. They had 4 tents on "our" pitch and the adjoining one and their car partly parked on the pitch next door which we were left to take. The pitch had several dips making it difficult to pitch the tent. We had requested a large pitch as we were bringing a boat, which cost extra. Due to the weather forecast we left the boat at home which was just as well as I doubt we would have had room for it.

We came back at 10.30 shattered and looking forward to a good nights sleep. We ended up getting about 4 hours. There was music coming from all directions, people talking loudly until 1.30 am, next doors visitor going home at midnight and shining his headlights straight into our tent, a lady being sick and not bothering to go to the toilet block and a group of lads shouting loudly and jumping into the pool around midnight. The warden came at 1 a.m. To get them out of the pool but didn't ask anyone to turn their music down. I have never stayed on a site with so many inconsiderate people. It's just as well we were only booked for 1 night as there is no way I would ever go back.

Room Tip: Don't go it you value a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a lovely stay here, only 2 other tents in our field, lots of friendly kids playing with mine in the park and football and cricket games started up and played amicably. Loved the adventure play grounds and ponds, very peaceful, hardly a whisper for our stay (first week of summer hols). Kids loved the shop and a kind lady working there lent my son 10p for the sweet he had chosen. When I enquired about directions for a day trip, the lady working in the shop put in a route planner request and printed it off for me to take, what a star! The facilities aren't state of the art, but it's camping. I never felt they were dirty and I loved the fact that the shower cubicles had a wet and a dry area so you could undress, shower, dry and dress in privacy in the same cubicle. Plenty of water points. Didn't realise how much I liked that until I stayed some where without it and had to do a one legged hop to get dressed in 2 inches of dirty water and walk for ages every time I wanted the loo or some water. I'm amazed people have complained about animal visitors, it is outside, animals live outside! We saw lots of deer, squirrels, a rat, a shrew, several different types of dragonfly and a frog. We also heard a fox and several different owls. I also had the awful task of moving a couple of clods of earth from under our tent space, took 20 seconds and only remembered it as I read someone complaining as though their life was over. We saw no flooding, in fact the ground was so solid we only got 5 pegs in it. Oh the pool, absolute heaven, I floated blissfully around as the kids splashed and played. Yes it had leaves in it, yes a beetle was trying to drown itself in it (i hooked him out). No it is not filthy, no litter, no slime, it is outside and by trees and *shudder* unsterilised nature!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the field between the kids park and the shop, was a very nice little spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed at the start of August for just over a week with our two boys (11 &13).

This could be one of the best sites in the country with some serious investment. It's location and proximity to Poole are fantastic. But (and it's a big BUT) as it is, the place is extremely poor in its current state. The toilet/shower block is extremely old and tired and the ladies worse than the mens, with faeces and blood on cubicle walls that was not cleaned off for the whole time we were there. Water pressure is variable, but generally poor though that might be because the shower heads are so clogged up with limescale, though they are hot. The toilets wobble when you sit on them and the whole place has a worn out feel to it. One evening a dog had left a deposit in the middle of the mens shower block - nice.
The pool is an accident waiting to happen, dirty, unsupervised, no seating for you to sit and supervise your own kids (luckily ours didn't want to use it because of the filth). Heard people complaining to the 'manager' that the heating still wasn't working! Lots of children using it unsupervised.
The shop. Poorly stocked, no prices on most items and generally not up to scratch. Opening times are supposed to be 9-5, but could vary considerably.
Half the roads are stone tracks with some pretty bad pot holes that never seem to empty of water.
Two of the main reasons we booked here was for the wifi and tennis court. The WiFi is only really available within about 10m of the shop (and probably the club house). The tennis court is very tired with the playing surface breaking up into lots of small gravelly stones, the way tarmac does after a time, and a net that has seen better days.
The take away wasn't open most of the time, apparently they were having a problem with one of the cookers. Couldn't see a menu or price list so have no idea what they actually sell.
The games room has a selection of very old video games (20+ years old) and a couple of small pool tables and a table football. But half don't work and most don't have a price on them. Can't comment on the bar as we didn't use it, but saw the Madness tribute band from the door (2 guys with a keyboard and a guitar).

This must be the only site we have stopped at in the last 10 or more years that didn't have a reception at the entrance with a security barrier restricting access.

A real disappointment considering the potential. The owners and manager (their son) need to take a trip to somewhere like Holgates in Silverdale or Wild Rose in Appleby , or even Camping les Etangs Fleuris in France to see how it can, and should, be done.
Wish we'd spent the extra £120 and gone to Wareham Forest.

Room Tip: Really don't bother going here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonTheGardenGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went on the first weekend of the summer holidays and the takeaway (reason I booked it) was shut the whole 3nights, when asked what the reason was,..."well there is one about 10mins away". We had to move pitch because we couldn't stand the smell of dog poo any more, on site pub is a little room and a long walk to the wash rooms (from keyhole field), next to no fish in the so called fishing lake, never seen anyone come around to tidy or clean up, the shop is a joke, no bread, milk, papers, we had more in the van than they had in the shop. And in the night was a power cut and freezer stuff melted. Pool was small and in need of a clean. Toliet blokes were clean and often seen a cleaner in there (the only plus)

Room Tip: Don't get put in keyhole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
21.8 mi away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 22 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
5.9 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Touring Park

Property: Beacon Hill Touring Park
Address: Blandford Road North, Poole BH16 6AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Poole
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT ** Family run Beacon Hill Touring Park enjoys the beauty of 30 acres of partly wooded heathland, together with a wide selection of wildlife. We are a Conservation Award winning park in the stunning Dorset countryside, three miles west of Poole Town Centre, and just five miles from the best beaches Britain has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Touring Park Hotel Poole
Beacon Hill Touring Park Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing