We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fab!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

I recently stayed at the Whitehouse with my boyfriend and couldn't fault it. The b+b itself is lovely, very modern and was spotless! Carol and Robert were very welcoming and extremerly helpful giving us tips on where to visit in the area and offering to give us a lift out in the evening.
The location is good, located 5 minutes drive from the centre of poole. Would not hesitate to visit again and would strongly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
291
34
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

we stayed here for a family wedding a year or so ago and could not recommend the place enough , Carol Bob and the cats made us most welcome , rooms and facilities great as was the lovely cooked breakfast , and the little touches made it for us ...such as arriving to freshly made banana bread and scones in our room and Carol insisting on dropping us over to the hotel where our wedding was being held so we could have a drink and catch a taxi home and the night we stayed in with our one yr old fast asleep she layed the table for us with wine glasses and all the works when we asked if it was ok if we ordered a take away meal ..lovely touches - highly recommended B&B ! .

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Carol, the land lady is very caring and friendly. The breakfasts are organic, copious and delicious. The rooms are pristine clean, modern with all facilities including a DVD player. The garden is a delight especially for those into Feng Shui. I loved the slice of home baked cake that was placed in my room every day! The little touches that Carol puts in to making you feel at home are priceless.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Houry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

This is by far the best B and B we have stayed in. The room was excellent with a huge comfy bed, and really big en suite and everything you could ask for. The house itself is modern with a very warm and welcoming atmosphere created by Carol and Bob who are great hosts. Their friendly, chatty approach and general knowledge about the area made our stay very enjoyable and if we are ever in the area we won't hesitate to book again. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

After searching for a B&B in the area we came across The White House with a very informative website. Phoned up to check availability and spoke to Carol who also confirmed small children were more than welcome.
So all booked for 2 nights, arrived late Saturday evening to a very warm welcome and a very clean well presented, warm house. Superb modern decor, unlike any other B&B I've ever stayed in. For us it felt like staying with friends rather than in a place we've never been. The room was spotless, with a great wet room and a very comfy bed & proper down duvet.
Both mornings breakfast was great, a full english with all the ingredients from local farm shops. Nothing was too much trouble for Carol, a top hostess.
We would totally recommend The White House and will definatley be returning without a doubt!
Steve, Nat & Freddie

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 105ESteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

The white house is a nice B&B, with welcoming hosts. The rooms are nice with comfortable beds and bathroom facilities. Carol made us feel very welcome, as did her cats :).

I would recommend this B&B to anyone, it also has good off road parking - a must for me.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harley71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

Excellent B&B with very friendly owners and a beautiful room, modern, very clean and relaxing after a long day. Very comfortable bed, freeview LCD, internet access, ipod facility and super breakfast. A lovely garden & loads of parking.
A great find, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
5.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
2.9 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
2.4 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The White House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 31A Dorchester Road | Upton, Poole BH16 5NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a clean modern bed and breakfast with underfloor heating, LCD televisions, i-pod docks, quality freshly cooked organic breakfasts at any time you like? Even charge your car for free. We don't do rules and regulations here at the White House; arrive when you like, leave when you like. Oh, and don't forget to enjoy the fresh homemade cakes when you get back from your day's activities! We try to make your stay cool - come and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Bed And Breakfast
The White House Hotel Poole
The White House Bed & Breakfast Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing