We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$125
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$243
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$133
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel(Poole)(Great Value!)
$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$65
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveler rating
486
5
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome made cakescarol robb blush toiletrieson arrivalwet roomfreshly baked cakesincluding eggsdorchester roadperfect hostslocally sourced produceunderfloor heatingguest loungetea and cakehome from homefresh milk and wateriron and board
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
459 - 464 of 492 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. Carol was very warm and welcoming. The fresh organic breakfasts and homemade cakes in your room were great. The room was excellent. There are wooden floors in the room with underfloor heating so not at all dusty. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was pristinely clean with Lush products supplied. There was wireless internet connection in the room.
I can't praise it highly enough.
Just two thoughts though, I would have liked a small table and chair for working on the computer (possibly one that folded away). And it is a bit of a drive into Poole, so you need to use your car to explore the town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We stayed at The White House for two nights in November and can honestly say it is the best B& B we have ever stayed at. Both Carol & Rob were really friendly hosts and Carols breakfast was to die for. The rooms are light and airy and are of a very high standard. We would recomend it to anyone and will return if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We only stayed in The White House for one night, but once we got there I wanted to stay longer. We had a friendly welcome, with tea and cake. The room was warm, comfortable, very clean, with all the facilities one would want in a Bed and breakfast.
The breakfast menu was the longest choice I have seen, and Carol is an excellent cook, who chatters away as she prepares the food. It just felt like home.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed here recently for 3 nights. Carol and Robert were warm, down to earth, hosts.
We were greeted with a cup of tea and a huge slice of Carols homemade jam sponge cake with clotted cream. We had a different piece of cake left in the room each evening (You will never taste better homemade cakes). The place is spotless, bed comfortable, wifi, wetroom, big breakfast, 10 mins from Poole Quay and under 20mins to Sandbanks Road.
Carols eggs were cooked to perfection apart from one breakfast i received that had a broken yoke. I did threaten Carol with trip advisor. AHH AHH!

Fantastic! We had a wonderfull time in Poole!

Brian and Paula.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed here as we were attending a family party nearby and were not disappointed. The reviews and the breakfast description sold it to us.

The hosts were absolutely lovely and went out of their way to help you - Robert gave us a lift to our party so we didn't have to get a cab which was very generous of him.

Carol is so friendly and welcoming. We were greeted with tea and cake on arrival which was much needed after a long drive down. We had a natter with Carol and Robert and a play with the friendly cats and rabbits then off to get ready.

The room had everything you could need for a short or long stay - iron, hairdryer, Ipod docking station as well as the usual bits. The room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. We had a wet room but there is a room with a bath if you prefer a soak (not an issue for us on quick trip tho).

The garden was lovely. See the pics on their website. It is the sort of garden that makes you want to garden! I was quite envious of the home grown veggies:)

Breakfast was hearty and delicious. Carol is a great cook. My husband had a full English whilst I plumped for a mix and match of veggie items I fancied. Home made hash browns and sausages were fab! There were yogurts, pastries, cereal, fruit also plus 3 Sunday newspapers to choose from.

Best of all was no mad rush in the morning for breakfast - any time from 8.30 which suited us fine. Nothing worse than having to be up super early just to get your breakfast before you get kicked out at 10am on a Sunday and we checked out around 11 which was very civilised too.

We look forward to returning one day. Thanks Carol and Robert.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZbiggyPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews