We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Bouviers Rooms(Wimborne Minster)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveler rating
485
5
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome made cakescarol robb blush toiletrieson arrivalwet roomfreshly baked cakesincluding eggsdorchester roadperfect hostslocally sourced produceunderfloor heatingguest loungetea and cakehome from homefresh milk and wateriron and board
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 491 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great B&B, and as others have said spotlessly clean, modern and very comfortable. The breakfast is excellent and genuinely does 'feature local produce as far as possible' declaring provenance as well, including eggs from the garden (well the hens in the garden!).
The last minute important thing for us this time was the assistance offered and given during my temporary disability. I'm new to this 'challenged mobility' game and hadn't realised how different requirements are. Carol and Rob were so welcoming and helpful and did everything to make the one night stay in a ground floor room with walk in shower memorable for good reasons!
Thank you so much, and we look forward to seeing you without my crutches!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piano35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Wow
thanks for reviewing we were happy to help with your temporary impediment and hope it doesn't last to long thanks your for the glowing report we always read and take note of comments and it is always good to hear nice things about your self so thanks for the vote of confidence see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very comfortable, modern and clean b&b.
We stayed in january for one night, we were made very welcome by our hosts. Our room on the first floor was a good size, faultlessly clean and lovely breakfast.

Very nice to see a bath at this time of year, only shower gel and body lotion were provided, so bring your own, which isn't an issue for us. We were recommended a nice pub for dinner and awoke with a cooked breakfast of your choosing, with cereals, fruit, pastries and yogurt to help yourself to. Lots of parking too.

Faultless stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy_58london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and we were glad you enjoyed your stay, we would like to say that all our rooms are equipped with lush happy hippy shower gel/shampoo lush vanilla dee-lite body lotion the Purbeck soap company soaps and shower caps, if further supplies are required we can supply including toothpaste, toothbrushes shaving kits shoe shiners vanity kits etc. please don't be afraid to ask if you cannot see something you require we only want our guests to be completely happy. once again thanks for commenting and taking the time. hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at the White House this weekend as we had to be down in Poole to do some work on a family home. They had a deal on, so the stay was very reasonable, breakfast was amazing and all in all a great stay. The room was lovely and spacious with a bath, and the living area was huge. The owners were lovely a friendly and made us feel really welcome - I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

thank you for your great review we are glad that we met your expectations and look forward to seeing you all sometime in the future ( hope you got that floor finished! )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our one night stay on way to France - could not fault this lovely accommodation this was a last minute booking - the owners were more than helpful - even getting up early to cook breakfast which was excellent for our early morning ferry. The bedroom very spacious with coffee/tea facilities plus home make cake. Definitely can recommend and would stay again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay, we are always happy to provide brekfast for ferry travellers. Its bad enough for you having to get up at the crack of dawn without going hungry thanks for taking the time see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wow. We had a brilliant stay here.
The hosts are lovely, we had a great chat in the short amount of time we spent there (unfortunately only 1 night). They have done a great job creating a really unique and impressive space. The room we had was massive, with a huge, modern bathroom as well. Very comfortable bed as well. We really liked how they had laid out the bedroom in a different way, was a great change to the "norm" of B&B'land.

The hostess had provided a voucher to a nearby restaurant which gave a free bottle of wine with 2 main meals (we were sold as soon as this was mentioned). We asked her how long it takes to walk and she very kindly offered to take us there in her car. Much appreciated.

The breakfast was delicious and served casually (nothing worse than a stressful breakfast) whenever you want it. The checkout time was also very relaxed.

All of this, combined with an affordable nightly rate, makes this gem a must if you're looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodeCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Well what a great start to the new year, thanks for giving us such a lovely report it makes us look forward to the coming year knowing our guests like what we offer. once again thanks for taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews