We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does everything right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Does everything right”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wow. We had a brilliant stay here.
The hosts are lovely, we had a great chat in the short amount of time we spent there (unfortunately only 1 night). They have done a great job creating a really unique and impressive space. The room we had was massive, with a huge, modern bathroom as well. Very comfortable bed as well. We really liked how they had laid out the bedroom in a different way, was a great change to the "norm" of B&B'land.

The hostess had provided a voucher to a nearby restaurant which gave a free bottle of wine with 2 main meals (we were sold as soon as this was mentioned). We asked her how long it takes to walk and she very kindly offered to take us there in her car. Much appreciated.

The breakfast was delicious and served casually (nothing worse than a stressful breakfast) whenever you want it. The checkout time was also very relaxed.

All of this, combined with an affordable nightly rate, makes this gem a must if you're looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodeCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Well what a great start to the new year, thanks for giving us such a lovely report it makes us look forward to the coming year knowing our guests like what we offer. once again thanks for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
292
34
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Warm hospitality from the owners, good accommodation in modern rooms, huge bed, excellent shower, fresh milk for your tea and coffee in the room, plus home made coconut cupcakes, breakfast at 10 a.m. no problem (superb breakfast too), reasonable B&B rates, whats not to like. Good base for visiting a very nice area of Dorset. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
thanks for the second review and what a nice end to a very busy year we were pleased to see you again and hope it wont be the last time. as this might be my last review of the year can i just add that thanks to all the great guests we have had in 2013 it has been another very enjoyable year band b ing we look forward to welcoming old and new friends next year when we reopen at the end of january thank you and goodnight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great B & B would certainly recommend. Really big bedroom with huge bed and spotlessly clean, great nights sleep, tea and coffee in room with cake. Lovely breakfast with big choice and very friendly owners. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope that we get to see you again sometime in the future thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hi, I really did enjoy my stay here and the hosts are a really lovely couple. Cats are super cute to. We had Blackbird room with was on floor one and it was really big and done to a really high standard. Massive bed. Massive bathroom and a really big bath. They are doing everything right at this place and i really do mean this when i stay you got to stay there for yourself. You wiil love it! Breakfast is so tasty which is cooked by the Lovely Carol. So tasty. Yummy Bacon and sassauge and the eggs so fress as they are from little ladys at Rhode Island. Thanks.

Room Tip: Blackbird room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essex44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
well thanks for your lovely comments we all thats both of us and the cats and our girls in the garden thank you and hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed overnight before taking a ferry to Jersey. The guest house would normally have been shut the night we stayed, but, as we were not asking for breakfast and were having a early start, Carol and Rob accommodated us. What a good choice of accommodation. Very nice, clean, and I can only imagine that the breakfast would be of the same standard. Anyone planning to use a guest house prior to a trip to the channel islands, or anyone wanting to spend some time in this area of the country will NOT go wrong by chosing this guest house. We are going back to Jersey next year and will definately be booking in here.
There was a American Car show on the night we stayed, hence the guest house closed, as Rob has one of these Americian cars that requires a petrol tanker to follow him to keep him topped up, and for one night, the streets of Poole become the streets of New York ... Nice motor Rob... Will be back in August.

Room Tip: I dont think it matters what room you have, you wont go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy4819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for the review its always welcome to receive comments we look forward to seeing you both again next year thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Owners really friendly and rooms are beautiful, dog is happy as there is easy access to the garden from room and there was even a blanket and dog biscuits left for the dog on arrival. Love the underfloor heating and shower is amazing! Will definitely stay again :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hellocheekycheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for the review glad you enjoyed your stay we hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent two days with Carol & Rob to celebrate my 66th Birthday,we were met with fantastic hospitality ,a tray of tea and home baked cake in the very comfortable lounge.
Our hosts were very interested in us,which is very refreshing these days,the accommodation is of the highest decor and comfort,absolutely faultless.
The breakfast was wonderful,plentiful,freshly cooked with lovely varied choices,Carol & Rob are fantastic hosts,we will definitely book again in the near future.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you it is always heartening to know that our guests are happy and that makes us happy thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
5.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
2.9 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
2.4 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The White House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 31A Dorchester Road | Upton, Poole BH16 5NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a clean modern bed and breakfast with underfloor heating, LCD televisions, i-pod docks, quality freshly cooked organic breakfasts at any time you like? Even charge your car for free. We don't do rules and regulations here at the White House; arrive when you like, leave when you like. Oh, and don't forget to enjoy the fresh homemade cakes when you get back from your day's activities! We try to make your stay cool - come and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Poole
The White House Bed And Breakfast
The White House Bed & Breakfast Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing