We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Exceptional B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the White House for 3 nights on 12th July and would recommend to anyone visiting the Poole area. Carol and Bob are excellent hosts and make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. A lot of thought and hard work has gone into making this B and B the best I have stayed at. Carol's home made cake was a nice surprise as was the coffee in the garden. The bed was 6ft wide with plenty of comfy pillows and there were an assortment of teas and coffee etc in the room. The breakfast was excellent everything you could wish for cooked or otherwise including cereals,yoghurt,fresh fruit or full English. There is nothing negative I could say about the White House well done Carol and Bob.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetiepie021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
How nice to be complemented on our bed and breakfast we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hopfully we will see you again sometine thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
292
34
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Friendly greeting by Carol, followed by tea and homemade shortbread in the fabulous garden. The house is immaculate, fresh, light and minimalist design. Our room (which had access to the garden) was comfortable, well equipped and had everything to make our (sadly) one night stay a pleasure. Breakfast was delightful, a host of goodies to select from, mostly local produce and Carol cooked it in front of us. We didn't feel any pressure to rush, chatting with both Rob and Carol, and we finally left totally relaxed. We would highly recommend a visit here.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Sparrow' which had it's own access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
thank you for the great report, it is satisfying to know our guests are happy with the service we provide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This has got to be one of the best B&B's in the UK ... Really well run and spotlessly clean ... Breakfast is Wonderful with eggs from their own hens! And local fresh produce... We will definitely be back .....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevnlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are so happy you liked the White House and took the time to write a review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We enjoyed a 2-night stay at The White House: spotless (& spacious) room(s) and facilities (modern bathrooms), wonderful and generous breakfast, warm, helpful and attentive welcome by hosts, Carol & Rob.

Room Tip: The room on the first floor is quite large and guarantees intimacy. One of the two rooms on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
thank you for the review we are glad our hospitality was appreceated thanks for taking the time to write hope to see you again if you cross the pond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is as good as if not better than any 5 star hotel. The large bedroom and bathroom was spotlessly clean and finished to a high standard. I had a great nights sleep in the huge comfy bed. A very nice touch is the slice of homemade cake in the room, I had a delicious slice of chocolate and banana cake. The free super fast wifi is fantastic. Carol and Rob are great hosts and I had a nice chat with them over the delicious breakfast freshly made by Carol. I would certainly stay here again and would certainly recommend it as great place to stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinse16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
thanks for the cracking report glad you were happy that makes us happy see you again thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a fantastic b & b. Carol and Rob so warm and friendly. Absolutely spotless room. Loved the breakfast and also the fantastic home made cake in the room. Walking distance to great local pub for dinner and bus stop at door for Poole. Thanks for a making our trip to UK so enjoyable. Would recommend to our friends and family for hospitality and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
and what fantastic guests you were loved our chats hope the hols are going well thanks for taking the time we appreciate it xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This B&B is in a class of its own. We only stayed a couple of nights but would certainly return here when next we travel to Dorset. Every thing about it smacks of considerable planning and care. Rob and Carol are very good hosts and the accommodation and food reflect the care they expend to make there guests feel at home. Superb bathroom and bedroom, good wifi and very affable chickens who produce first class eggs for breakfast. Just be aware that you need to turn off Dorchester road by the pedestrian traffic lights since the entrance is not on the main road. No minus points all plus. Thank you both for a very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike056_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hi so glad you enjoyed your stay and the eggs the girls appreciate the mention. thanks for the mention on my entrance i would love a bigger sign but the council says no! i know its confusing but I'm blaming the power's that be for giving me and address on Dorchester rd but an entrance on moorland way. anyway thanks once again for the superb review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
5.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
2.9 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
2.4 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The White House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 31A Dorchester Road | Upton, Poole BH16 5NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a clean modern bed and breakfast with underfloor heating, LCD televisions, i-pod docks, quality freshly cooked organic breakfasts at any time you like? Even charge your car for free. We don't do rules and regulations here at the White House; arrive when you like, leave when you like. Oh, and don't forget to enjoy the fresh homemade cakes when you get back from your day's activities! We try to make your stay cool - come and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Bed And Breakfast
The White House Hotel Poole
The White House Bed & Breakfast Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing