We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Cherbourg ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I (plus two other couples) stayed one night both before and after a ferry crossing to Cherbourg for a group cycling trip. Hotel is just north of the town centre and about two miles from the ferry. Car parking is good and we all parked our cars free for the week with just a request for a donation to Great Ormond St hospital.

Both rooms we had were very good and up to usual Premier Inn standard, no noise at all either stay. Used the bar both ways but didn't eat due to our timings. Accommodation found for our six bikes both ways even though on our return there were about thirty odd other cyclists from another group staying.

Room charge without breakfast was £83 out and £88 back (one Friday, one Saturday) which was expensive and more than we paid for any night in France where we stayed in some excellent places. However the free parking made up for this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mothmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,299 - 1,305 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is the first of the older Premier Inns I've stayed in and whilst it was broadly OK, I feel compelled to point out for other travellers that:

1. it's not cheap for what it is - a basic hotel in a retail park with no facilities nearby (bar one of those awful pubs that shadow Premier Inn) sandwiched between the main coast road and an important access road for heavy vehicles using the retail park.
2. while it's close to the train station, you have to walk through a fairly unappealing park, and then the back-end of the retail park, to get there as the footpath diverges from the A-road. Wouldn't recommend this for lone female travellers.
3. it has no air-conditioning.
4. most importantly, while the company/staff had done what they could to make the room well-presented (the bed linen, etc. was all new, clean and in good condition), the bathroom was utterly shabby, and I would have been disappointed by it in a YHA or student housing, let alone a hotel. There was water-damaged, rough chipboard poking through the laminate surface on the sink unit that was really offputting, and quite frankly, not safe.

In sum, if you can get a cheap rate and are prepared to stay somewhere basic on the coast for one night, it's fine. But I won't be coming back unless there's no other option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BemusedAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Last Saturday morning (7.30am) we made the decision to go down the coast. We called the hotel we usually stay in but they were full. We tried many hotels and had to look further afield. We managed to get a room with premier inn, holes bay, Poole.

We went and did a few hours on the beach and checked in for 5.30pm. The receptionist was very welcoming and informative. Gave all the information we need. Got to the room, it was a good size, double bed and single sofa bed. It was a hot hot day and we were on the second floor so the room was roasting. They had closed the blind and put a fan in the room and put it on. There was a towel missing and after collecting it (had to get things from car) the receptionist called up to check we were happy with the room. We were. Only down side was the heat but that had nothing to do with the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wistfulglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel o.k. a hundred pound a night without breakfast seems expensive
when we came down for breakfast their was a lot of shouting around. one of the staff shouted that her bin had been put back in the wrong place. then we had to hear about the rota
breakfast was good. didnt have the cooked as it always seems overedone.
didnt like having music, dont think you need all that when you are trying to eat
room wasnt bad glad the staff left the fan on. curtains had a couple of holes in. and the bathroom was a bit worn.
had a lot of traffic noise .and shouting and slamming of car doors when people left the pub.
but that couldnt be helped really.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonzoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

TBH, for the price we paid (hubby booked and paid £180 for two nights, breakfast not included) i wished I did the booking instead of him for I am sure we can find B&B somewhere, better than the usual Premier Inn. I wouldnt pay this much for Premier Inn.

In saying that, we went and stayed and had a wonderful weekend in Poole. We discovered Sandbank beach was just 10 minutes drive away.

It is the usual Premier Inn standard. It is clean and spacious. Our room seemed quiet enough. Car parks was full in the night during the weekend we were there...but in the day time there were plenty of spaces.

It is a good 15 minutes walk to town thru an opened space green. On a hot day like the weekend we were there...it can be a blistering hot and long walk.

Becareful if you plan to go to Sandbank, thier day time and evening paking is VERY tricky. Many people got caught out with it. My kid insisted on doing the parking ticket, gave him £2 for the machine and he got a ticket for 15 minutes parking time on it..BEFORE the evening parking switch over. Ended up paying another £2 for evening charges. The machine doesn't give change back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here because it was close to relatives we were visiting. Great choice, very warm welcome, clean comfortable room and a lovely view of the bay. Easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, and Poole Quay. A visit to Upton Country Park in glorious sunshine to watch an outdoor performance of The Importance of Being Ernest, with picnic and great company on Saturday couldn't have been better. Plenty of lovely walking and a lovely lunch at the boat club in Poole Park on Sunday. Would use this Premier Inn again, the staff made us welcome as if they meant it.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the bay can be a bit noisy due to the road but the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Staff helpfull & Friendly. Very good overall, clean & tidy, Bed and pillow combination ok but its never as good as your own. Food ok, went for the meal deal, not quite the full selection, but a three course meal including a drink, plus all you can eat breakfast for £22.99 a bargain. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
1 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
988 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
865 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,251 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel

Address: Holes Bay Road, Poole BH15 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $62 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catch the ferry to Brownsea Island or head over to Sandbanks from this stunning harbourside location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel Poole
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing