We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the money - unbeatable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shah of Persia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shah of Persia Hotel
Ranked #47 of 52 Poole B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“For the money - unbeatable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

It seemed to good to be true - B&B for 2 at £30 a night (yes, £15.00 each), so total for two pesons for two nights £60. OK, it seemed to be a pub - a rough area? noisy perhaps? A busy road? tacky room? In fact, hardly any of those things. On arriving on a Friday night, we found it to be on a main road junction in a residential area, but, while it was busy, mainly with diners, we were never troubled by any noise, except a little traffic noise, but then only because we chose to have a window and its secondary glazing cracked open for fresh air. The room itself was named 'Lilliput' but this was clearly ironic, as it was in fact brobdingnagianly large - and comfortable, with en-suite bath/shower/wc. Free wi-fi was provided. as were tea and coffee facilities.
The restaurant offered a side range of good value meals and reasonably priced wine - plus one main course free when two were ordered. Two main courses, one afters and a bottle of wine came to £24.00. The cuisine was OK - excellent at the price - and clearly popular.
There was a wide choice for breafast - cereals and/or a cooked breakfast of your choice.
The Shah of Persia is run by Marstons, a brewery. Like their other premises, it's bookable on line. Would we go back? Without a doubt.
I should like to make very clear we have no connection whatsoever with the Shah or its owners or management.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLeech, Manager at Shah of Persia Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Valued Guest, Thank Yor for your honest review of your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming yu back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    61
    34
    28
    15
See reviews for
32
82
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We booked a room at the Shah of Persia very last minute, so got an excellent deal on the room. The hotel is in a convenient location for us as we had a ferry crossing to France from the port the following day. We stayed in the main building of the pub/hotel and the room was well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, a complementary bottle of water and toiletries. The room has everything you need for a night-stop, but could feel a bit cramped if staying for longer.
The food was ok, typical chain pub food but fairly priced with the buy one get on free deal. The only thing that let the place down was one of the managers who was in definite need of some customer service training. Shouting accross the pub to the staff doesn't create a good atmosphere, and when a couple asked for some more orange juice at breakfast she just said "Well i haven't had my delivery yet" as though it was their fault for staying that particular day! I think everyone at breakfast was pretty unimpressed by her behaviour, but it became rather comical in the end. The bar staff were good, but the waiting staff and female manager really let the pub down, does she not realise that talking to customers nicely and behaving in a professional way means that people will feel more inclined to give good reviews, and recommend the hotel to others?
Overall, it was a convenient base for a night stop, but not somewhere we would choose to return to for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main pub building - there are some rooms that are converted garages out the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDocsHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLeech, Manager at Shah of Persia Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Here at The Shah of Persia we pride ourselves in our customer service - we are disappointed when a guest does not give us the opportunity to resolve any issues and feels it necessary to patronisingly voice any comments they may have online through peculiar references to other guests alleged experiences rather than thier own and defamatory comments about individual staff - a trend this particular guest seems to have a penchant for (see their other reviews) please judge for yourself and try one of our rooms starting at £20 bed and breakfast and main meals on a Two-for-One offer all day, every day which we and the vast majority of our guests find exceptional value.

Mark Leech MBII and Sarah Leech Mangers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We booked a last minute 2 night stay here as a stop off on the way to a weeks holiday in Weymouth. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming and couldn't have asked for better service! The food both in the pub and at breakfast was of a very good standard and never had to wait long for orders to be taken or food to be brought to us! After reading some of the reviews and considering how cheap the rooms were we weren't sure what to expect but we would recommend this hotel to anyone and really enjoyed our stay, thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alilee1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLeech, Manager at Shah of Persia Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Valued Guest, thank you for review, also thank you for your comments about the service - this has been passed onto our team. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and would look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Mark and Sarah Leech MBII Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Found the hotel at a last minute booking site,found it to be easily found and located near to local town, A high quality of service was provided through out the two night stay with a good quality breakfast to start the day and a clean room upon arrival. Staff where always happy to help, the earplugs did come in handy due to the main road outside however with the windows shut the noise was drowned out and this problem is beyond the hotel's staff's control. Only minor problem was the time when breakfast was served should be extended from 8.00-9.30 on week days to 8.00-10.30 but over all I would recommend this hotel and will certainly re visit in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLeech, Manager at Shah of Persia Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Valued Guest, thank you for your honest review, also thank you for your comments about the service - this has been passed onto our team. With regards to breakfast we do serve til 10am on a weekend to allow people extra flexibility and 9.30 in the week which is usually meets most guests needs - if you would like a later breakfast we will always be happy to accomodate if one of the team is aware. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and would look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Mark and Sarah Leech MBII Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

had a three night stay and would go again nice room everything you need ,breakfast was fine ,cereal toast,tea,coffee, toast full english set you up for the day location great bus stop outside £1.30 to town centre taxi £5.bar meals again excellent values 2-4-1 and 20% off too will stay again rooms bit warm but better than being cold celing fan would be ideal ,bit of road noise but didnt stop us sleeping

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLeech, Manager at Shah of Persia Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Valued Guest, thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and would look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Should you stop again we do have a number of fans available at reception should you be too warm in the room.

Mark and Sarah Leech MBII Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlesbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed in a room that was a converted garage in the middle of the car park..There were no windows that you could actually see through (They had patterned plastic covering on them) We could hear the couple in the next room, and by the bed was a box that should have had earplugs in them (Empty)..I was not aware when the room was booked that there were outbuildings...We would not have wanted to stay here more than one night due to the garage conversion being near to the main Road and a bit noisy...Breakfast was OK....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLeech, Manager at Shah of Persia Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Valued Guest,

Here at The Shah of Persia we aim to offer the best customer service to all our guests, should we be given the opportunity. All guests are escorted to their rooms by a team member and are asked to contact either that team member, or a member of the management team should they need anything during the stay. Should any of your issues have been brought to our attention we could gladly have done our best to resolve them for you.

With regards to the "outbuildings", this is a converted block to the rear of the property refurbished to the same standard as our other rooms, a large number of our guests request these rooms as they are easily accessible without using stairs and are further away from the main road and are not over the main pub building. This block is featured on our advertising and also features in a guests picture on this very page. Should you have requested a room-move we would have gladly done this if an alternative was available. We do also offer Superior Doubles, which are larger in size in the main building.

Mark Leech MBII and Sarah Leech Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Clean room, good 2 for 1 meal. Nice helpful people.
Some road noise at bedtime but for the price paid it was good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthantsRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLeech, Manager at Shah of Persia Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Valued Guest,

Thank-You for your review and for acknowledging our team's efforts. As mentioned in other reviews the traffic noise can be an issue for some guests but we do clearly state our busy main-road location on all our advertising materials and provide Ear Plugs as standard to ensure even the lightest of sleepers can enjoy a comfortabe nights sleep.

We hope you would stay with us again in the future.

Mark Leech MBII and Sarah Leech Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Queen Mary Inn
Queen Mary Inn
#21 of 52 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Parkstone Guest House
#6 of 10 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viewpoint Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shah of Persia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shah of Persia Hotel

Property: Shah of Persia Hotel
Address: 173 Longfleet Road, Poole BH15 2HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Shah of Persia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shah Of Persia Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing