We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service was so slow!”
Review of The Dancing Moose

The Dancing Moose
Ranked #85 of 362 Restaurants in Poole
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Poole
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Service was so slow!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The Grove still in the window, dancing grove on the back of the chairs and dancing moose on the menu's. Very confusing. Still has a nice atmosphere though. We had to wait nearly an hour for our main course and once we were served it we we're told they had ran out of ketchup!! The food was good, including the dessert which took another 40 minutes to come but it was a lot of waiting around when we were so hungry!

This place just needs to find it's identity again and stick with it!

Helpful?
Thank sonja6920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    40
    23
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great lunch but returning at 22.15 for drinks to be told we are closed?”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Three friends had a lovely sandwich lunch and coffees and enjoyed it so much. Six men in our party that evening went out for dinner and decided to go back at 22.15 only to be told by a young man behind the bar that it had been a slow night, so they were closed. Six men would have spent at least eighty to a hundred pounds, but not at this establishment. Shame. So we spent it at another hostelry. Bet the owner isn't aware of his staff decision making? Reply please.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart170649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal coffee meeting place ”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I visit the dancing moose aka dancing grove often, usually for coffee with friends. I'm glad that they now offer the option of large coffees, and the choice of flavoured lattes is a nice addition. I find the breakfast choices and snacks available before lunchtime are a bit limited, and the offer of pastries tends to be hit or miss. But it is a cosy coffee shop, offering good service, nice seating arrangements and in a location where you can also go on your own to surf the net and watch the world go by!

Helpful?
Thank mrsredmoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as good as the Grove, find somewhere else...”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Used to enjoy having breakfast at the Grove regularly.

Unfortunately standards are nowhere near as good, low stock, mediocre food. If you have a small menu, it is critical it is all excellent.

Need to find a new breakfast spot as won't be returning in a hurry. Gutted.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee in Poole”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

One of the chaps from the dancing moose operates a mobile coffee van outside Tesco's in Branksome. Coming from Sydney, where the coffee is outstandingly good, I have to say, you won't find a better coffee in Dorset. Made with a real passion for coffee, you will not be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Broadswords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dancing Moose also viewed

 

Been to The Dancing Moose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing