We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for gran; or painting a pot (if you can come back in a week!)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Poole Pottery

Poole Pottery
Ranked #1 of 9 Shopping in Poole
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Poole Pottery's rich history dates back to 1873 and has long been recognised as a centre of excellence for the most skilled craftsmen and artisans. Visit the working Studio and meet our Throwers, Artists and Designers. Watch pot throwing and decorating and find out more about how Poole Pottery is made. Discover the largest collection of Poole Pottery in the world. Giftware, Lighting, Quality Seconds, Collectors Corner, Vintage Tableware and Museum pieces.Discover a selection of unique pieces by our Studio artists, only made and sold at the Home of Poole Pottery. Feel inspired? Have a go at painting your own masterpiece in our Paint a Pot area. Find great bargains with two floors of Outlet Shopping: Gifts, Homewares, Fashions, Shoes and Accessories.Relax in our Pottery cafe on the first floor. We serve a selection of drinks, lunchtime meals and snacks made from locally sourced ingredients. We are situated right on the Quay in Poole. Group Visits and Coach Parties Welcome, Wheelchair accessible, Seating throughout the store, Baby Changing Facilities, Free Entry, Open Daily Monday to Saturday 9.00am to 5.30pm Sunday 10.30 to 4.30, closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day and Easter Day.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for gran; or painting a pot (if you can come back in a week!)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Not a bad place on a wet afternoon ; enough interest for an hour. OK for kids / teens if you paint a plate / pot etc. but you need to still be in the area 5 days later to collect it after firing! Don't make a special trip but it could be gran's treat :-)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoolePottery, General Manager at Poole Pottery, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Andrew O
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Poole Pottery.
We hope you enjoyed your visit to Paint a Pot. All of the ceramic items that are painted are glazed by the team in the studio and then fired in the Poole Pottery kilns. This does take time and we carry out extra firings in the busy periods. We do offer a postage service for customers who are not able to return to pick up their items for which there is a charge.
As an alternative we do also offer the opportunity to paint a plaster figure which is painted with acrylic paints and is dry and ready for collection in half an hour.
Many thanks again for posting your response and we look forward to welcoming you again soon
Kind regards
Poole Pottery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    92
    56
    23
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't visit the Cafe!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Never before have I had such a disgusting piece of sponge cake - it was unedible stodge which I got them to replace with a tea cake which was fine. While there a family were given a refund for their cold fish and chips - they had waited 45 minutes. Another couple had waited 30 minutes and said their fish and chips were 'just warm and not very nice'. If you want anything more than a drink go somewhere else!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sylve5ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoolePottery, General Manager at Poole Pottery, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Sylve5ter
Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to Poole Pottery.
We were sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the Pottery Café. Please accept our apologies for the disappointment it caused you. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with the concerned departments.
Assuring you of our best intentions at all times
Kind regards
Poole Pottery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pottery painting not worth a visit ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

This was the nearest pottery painting to where we staying and we were very disappointed compared to other pottery painting places we have been to before. There were only five colours of paint to chose from, very limited range of things to paint and when we collected our things there were patches where they hadn't been glazed at all. Very disappointing and I would recommend the Clay Studio in Christchurch as so much better and not too far away.

Helpful?
1 Thank KateT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoolePottery, General Manager at Poole Pottery, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear KateT77
Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to Poole Pottery.
We regret to read that your experience here at Poole Pottery Paint a Pot was not to your satisfaction.
We offer a range of different items to paint, from mugs and plates to money boxes and animal figures in the ceramics range. We aim to keep our prices competitive (from £6) which includes the paints, glazing by the studio team and firing in the Pottery kilns. There are no further add-on charges or studio fees. The only extra cost might be if the items were to be posted on to the customer. We believe this keeps our Paint a Pot as a great value offer.
We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your items when you collected them. We believe that we did in fact fully refund you at the time, which we hope showed you that our main concern is that the customer is happy with the experience. Please feel free to contact us at enquiries@poolepotteryretail.co.uk to discuss this further.
We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Kindest regards
Poole Pottery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

only popped in for a quick look but ended up spending money. the giftshop has loads of stuff you can buy anywhere but the outlet area is teeming with a wide variety of poole designs. there are bargains - as much as 40% off - in the 'seconds' and discontinued lines sections.
There were a couple of live demos going on too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nadger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoolePottery, General Manager at Poole Pottery, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear nadger99
Thank you for taking the time to post your review further to your recent visit to Poole Pottery. It was good to hear that you found some bargains and we hope you enjoyed seeing the demonstrations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards
Poole Pottery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjpt140v
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not Good Enough”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We popped into Poole Pottery and were very taken by the beautiful ceramics and the excellent skills of the painters and potters. The history section was quite poor, not enough information or exhibits.
Upstairs there was a shopping area that was like any other departmental store with clothes and other goods for sale at very high prices.
We made our way to the cafe and decided upon fish and chips with bread and butter and a pot of tea.
I went to the toilet and was so surprised that a company with such a prestigious name would have such filthy toilets, disgusting urinal, dirty taps, no soap and a pathetic hand blower.

Ironically the tiles were cracked and broken, filthy grouting and not fixed particularly well. I said nothing to my wife.

The meal was served, fish was small, less than a tablespoon of peas. We ate our meal and my wife visited the toilet and came back and described them as horrible.

As we were leaving she said "You know what we didn't have? The bread and butter."

My advice is go to a pub on the front and pay a little extra for your meal or buy from the kiosks opposite Poole Pottery, it will be so much more enjoyable.

This experience was awful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank kjpt140v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoolePottery, General Manager at Poole Pottery, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear kjpt140v
Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to Poole Pottery.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed seeing the ceramics and the painters and potters at work.
We note your comment regarding the history section. Sadly most of the pottery archives were sold many years ago, although we do have a ‘museum’ section of pottery on display in the studio. We have recently put together some information boards explaining a brief history of Poole Pottery and the manufacturing process. We are currently looking at expanding this to provide even more information around the store.
Re the prices of our clothing on the first floor, we are sorry that you found the prices very high – most of the stock that we sell is at outlet prices, with a discount off the recommended retail price. We always aim to be competitively priced.
We are very sorry that you found the toilets to be unsatisfactory. We have 500,000 visitors each year and are based in a building that was the factory showroom in the past. We therefore have in place a continuing programme of improvement and we have recently improved both the mens and ladies facilities on the ground floor. Plans are in place to continue these improvements. I would like to reassure you that our customer toilets are cleaned thoroughly every morning and are maintained throughout the day. Clearly they were not up to scratch when you visited and I apologise for that.
We were also very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the Pottery café. Please accept our apologies for the disappointment caused. Be sure your comments have been shared with the concerned departments. Please feel free to contact us at enquiries@poolepotteryretail.co.uk to discuss this further.
We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Ensuring you of our best intentions at all times and thanking you again for your feedback.
Kindest regards
Poole Pottery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poole Pottery also viewed

 
Lytchett Matravers, Poole
 

Been to Poole Pottery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing