We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”
Review of Ginali's

Ginali's
Ranked #21 of 363 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Called in one lunch time. Staff very friendly, nice restaurant and good atmosphere. Unfortunately we were disappointed when the food arrived. My partner had pizza which was undercooked and too doughy to eat. The portion of chips he ordered on the side came a good 20 minutes after the meals were served so we believe they had been forgotten. When they eventually arrived they were nice. My steak was also very good but my chips were very overcooked so I had hard jackets with hardly any potato in the centre. They were awful and I couldn't eat them. Wouldn't go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    78
    12
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We came across this restaurant during a recent visit to Poole. It was lovely to find somewhere open to eat before the 6pm mark. The food was excellent as was the service. Lovely atmosphere. Children's menu was top quality. Very, very impressed. Prices were very reasonable. Would definitely visit again and recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ABDevon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
376 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have eaten here twice and not been disappointed. Garlic bread is scrumptious. Ambience very pleasant. Staff very well trained to say "sorry" even though it isn't always necessary! Lovely place and we will return

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

As a group of four, eating at Diva's one night we were looking for something different the following night but as we wandered around Ginali's seemed the best of what was on offer. The restaurant was not very full, but why that was we could not understand. The cooking was as good as at Diva's and the service was better (or rather, more consistent). Having eaten at both we can't understand why Diva's is #1 and this is almost 20 places lower. Marion B must have come on a night when the chef was having an evening off as the starters, main courses and desserts were all first rate.

It's easy to miss this restaurant as it stands back from the main shopping street but do try it out.

Put it this way. Had we been staying longer in Poole we would have gone back to have another meal at Ginali's rather than Diva's. One advantage of Ginali's is the size of the restaurant. There is a decent space between tables in what seems to be a converted Georgian-style town house.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We came across this restaurant by accident on our first trip to Poole. We chose not to have starters and went straight into the main course having had no prior knowledge at what to expect.
I ordered the chicken in mushroom and white wine sauce and was not disappointed. The portion was large and was served with crisp roasted vegetables and new potatoes. My partner had the Calzone (his favourite). This was also a good portion and very tasty. The staff were very friendly and cheerful, a lovely restaurant.
We were seated at a small table at the bottom of the stairs, which was not ideal, but as we had not booked in advance can not really complain. The atmosphere, the quality of the food and the reasonable bill more than made up for this blip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginali's also viewed

 

Been to Ginali's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing