We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Office Christmas lunch”
Review of The Ox

The Ox
Ranked #55 of 362 Restaurants in Poole
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: European, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Set in the heart of Parkstone, The Ox has a natural buzz - with a first class kitchen serving outstanding food, a great bar offering a selection of premium beers, fine kept ales, brilliant wines and a stunning boutique hotel with 14 en-suite double rooms.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Office Christmas lunch”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Catering for a large party can be difficult but the Ox carried it off brilliantly. there was a good selection on the pre order menu and all were well presented and of goods quality.service was friendly and efficient. The Ox is not cheap but does give fair value given the quality delivered.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westernroadtripper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    100
    34
    21
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good ingredients perfectly cooked”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife don't get offers of a babysitter very often, so when we did we headed on recommendation to the Ox in Ashley cross. Understated exterior, intimate interior. Even in the midst of Xmas parties we had good service, despite it being insincere and clearly rehearsed, good service is still good service. The quality of the steak was exemplary and all the draught beers were crisp and fresh. My wife had food that was "ok" but she is pregnant and is ambivalent to everything. Even with drinkers the restaurant takes precedence, with a visible kitchen. Not cheap, or amazing value, but thankfully that keeps the chavs and children away.
A nice pre bournemouth venue

Helpful?
Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Can't wait for the next time”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

There were 5 of us for lunch and our starters and mains from the Winter Menu met with an overwhelming approval in terms of taste, quality and overall eating experience. A small gripe was the delay in one of our group getting the starter a bit too long after the others but that's tempered by the fact that he said it was one of the best starters he ever had. But, apart from that small service glitch, in a competitive local environment, the Ox will do well to continue with what works - quality, taste, pleasing ambient surroundings and no overt pretensions about what it is or isn't.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ray_cormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good staff, exelent food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Good staff, excellent food! I had a christmas dinner with my mate from my college.And I recommended for everyone, it really excellent food and responsible staff, so nicely atmosfere. :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olaezerite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Christmas get together”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were a table of 12 and enjoyed a fabulous meal with superb service and the atmosphere in the whole place was great. Food served efficiently and in a friendly manner - Russell and his team did an amazing job on a busy night. The food was of a high standard and portions more than generous!
One slight gripe would be that the long sofas some of us sat on were not that comfortable to eat from - chose a normal dining chair if you can!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keithmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ox also viewed

 

Been to The Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing