We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red squirrel pinched my nuts.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brownsea Island

Brownsea Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.43*
and up
Return Jurassic Coast Cruise to Swanage from Poole
Ranked #1 of 59 things to do in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Former private island complete with castle built by Henry VIII is now a wildlife sanctuary containing one of the last red squirrel colonies in Britain.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Red squirrel pinched my nuts.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

On our visit we took the boat from Poole Quay and were pleasantly surprised how enjoyable it was, the helmsman gave us a running commentary on the harbour and even took us past the island to view the waterfront of millionaire's row, before landing at the jetty.
Once on the island you are greeted with the usual National Trust café and gift shop combo, but within a few minutes walk you are deep into the unspoilt nature reserve, offering a chance to see many rare forms of wildlife including the famous Red Squirrels, which are very tame as there are no predators on the island.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,116
    330
    69
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brownsea Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

A very enjoyable little ferry trip to an island full of wonderful nature for all to see. On the far side (studland shell bay side) of the island the beach is accessible and swimmable from but be wary of the current.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillyH6190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a lovely island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited Brownsea Island one beautiful afternoon last week, the morning had been very wet, but by the time we arrived off the 1.30 ferry the sun was shining and the island was bathed in a wonderful autumnal glow. We are NT members so our only cost was the ferry crossing, a nice little jaunt across Poole Harbour. We were very warmly welcomed by the staff, especially as the weather had meant we were amongst the first visitors of the day! We were just in time for a guided red squirrel walk which was well worth joining. Our guide obviously loves the island and gave us lots of information about its history. He, of course, knew the best places for spotting these lovely creatures and we were rewarded with the sight of more than a dozen. The walk took about an hour and a quarter. We rewarded ourselves with a cream tea, lovely fresh scones and not overpriced either! We would definitely visit the island again, if in the area, all in all a lovely afternoon out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChesterKesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Little Island Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This island is a really beautiful place. Red Squirells galore with beautiful woodlands to explore. Great views over the sea and a lovely gift shop / cafe. quiet and tranquil - really worth the price and a great ferry ride to get there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank peanutandhooverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pilgrimage to Scouting beginning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

What a great day, lots to see and discover. The people there are not jyst great but friendly, helpful and informative. The home baked cakes and scones are delicious. The Beef Stew is amazing ... just like my gran used to make when I was small. The trip across on the boat was also great fun. An excellent day out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank busymuumy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brownsea Island also viewed

 

Been to Brownsea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing