We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a 5* family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockley Park Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not a 5* family holiday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good points: the park is clean and well maintained, Our accommodation was in a fantastic location opposite all the amenities. The caravan was lovely, well equipped and surprisingly spacious however i would of expected that with the prestige.

Our first day which was just pretty much finding our feet around the caravan and park getting a feel for things, where everything was etc, we were quite impressed to begin with, it was me my husband and our 3 & 1 year old girls, well how looks can be deceiving!
So not only had we paid for the holiday, the fuel to get there, the food for the week, we then discovered that to pretty much get full use out of the holiday you then had to pay a lot more just to use and do everything else on the park! The soft play area is utterly appalling not only do you have to walk through the arcade which is literally full of different machines (clearly there to attract the children as it did my 3 year old, clearly another money maker for them) but it is literally about 3 meters long by 2 meters wide, its the most pathetic soft play area I've ever seen! Luckily it was only my two children in there as i have no idea how lots of children could play in there in the summer.
But OK not a massive deal there's plenty more to do that's FREE right?? no...the pool, yes OK fair size it has a slide, but the lockers you have to pay a £1 for, then throughout the week they have lots of different water activities for children from learning to swim, to things with floats etc but yet again it all has to be paid for! They sell swim nappies and armbands all the essentials, but £5 for some armbands? seriously? We ended up going to asda just to pick up some for £2. It wasn't too warm either and there is no area for children except on the steps so they could still stand up in the water.

The children's entertainment well....I think they need to employ staff that know how to smile, maybe not wear heels that they can barely walk in and ones that come and interact with the children. The day clubs are a joke 'circus skills' are one 'bring the family learn some basic skills' we turned up and there to our disappointment was a young lad who spun a plate on a stick and handed it to my 3 year old, she could not do it so he handed her 3 balls to juggle and that was it! After 5 minuets we left and took her to the park where both of my children could play, well i say both the park is not enclosed and is definitely not meant really young children, no swing, no easy accessible slide, its an open space to run about she kept running on the area where a family were playing bowels and over to the water where the sphereing thing is done. Not much fun for my 3 year old when i had to keep running off after her sister.
She then wanted to play golf which considering the amount everything costs and all they have to do is lend you a couple clubs and balls no assistance needed yet there is STILL a charge per person.
So basically unless we wanted to spend even more money to enjoy everything it was a pretty poor holiday experience, even if our children were a lot older we would of still had to pay the extra just for them to do everything, maybe if we could of gone to the evening entertainment we might of enjoyed the evenings a bit more but with small children they do have a routine and then i guess there is the charge for drinks.
My 18 month old is not a small baby and yet too small for everything that's done there maybe if they had a good soft play or a decent park both my children would of actually had something to do.
Overall if you are looking for a relaxing holiday with kids without spending too much your better off going abroad or staying at home then going to rockley park. I can honestly say I really expected more for a Haven site.

Room Tip: Don't spend too much on a caravan if you cant afford to do all the other activities, however its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank jhendersonCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    388
    150
    72
    70
See reviews for
853
128
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Well what can I say I've been coming to this park for the last 12 years and I've never had a bad experience. The caravans are immaculate, the shop is excellently stocked, entertainment is excellent, ALL the staff are very helpful and enthusiastic! 3 nights wasn't long enough for such a lovely holiday so booked a 7 nighter to come back the same time next year at a fantastic price!! Such a lovely atmosphere wherever you go and there's always something to do especially for the kids. All in all very reluctant to pack our bags and come home!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danh2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed on the touring part of the site which was ok. Pitches were fairly level and facilities were close by. Indoor swimming pool was a bit like human soup, very overcrowded. Short walk to stoney beach and harbour where people were crabbing which was interesting to watch. The entertainment was good - we watched a Russian circus act. Amusements kept us quiet for a while.

Room Tip: A good site if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Green-Fingers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

It was our first time with Haven, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. the accommodation was very clean (Superior) I think (the xbox an added bonus). The kids enjoyed the entertainment, and especially enjoyed the things in the Sports Zone which were open all day. The staff especially the ones at the Sports Zone were friendly and very good with my son (3) who couldn't work out where all the golf balls went, whcih was really appreciated ... The shop has a good choice, but a bit expensive (as expected). The pool was good, we went in both, and the outdoor one as surprisingly warm. Splash zone, was well received by the kids.

Our caravan had a lovely balcony which overlooked the sea. Difficulties in getting a television picture at times, which was an ongoing issue in the area I think.

All in all, would definitely go back there (and to other Haven sites).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from Haven Rockley Park,I cannot comment on the accomadation since we stayed in the touring area which was well layed out and very clean and tidy, as was the shower block which was immaculate, along with the washing up area.Along with me was my wife and three year old grandson. We ate in the Mash and Barrell each day where the food was well presented tasty and very reasonably priced (meal and drink £20 for all three of us). The staff could not have been more attentive.Again this venue was a very clean and pleasant place to be.The kids club held each morning held the children captivated with various activities , arts and crafts,shows and meet the characters etc.The fun stars where fantastic (Zac,Rachell and Emilly) and made each and every child feel special it was a pleasure to watch them all playing together.The evening entertainment was mainly for the children as is Havens commitment to family focust holidays, and was of a high standard. The blue coats all worked extremly hard involving all the children,as did Chris the entertainments manager.My Grandson refered to the blue coats as his friends and we left feeling we really had made new friends.The door and security staff were very polite and pleasant to talk to,as were the staff in the shop and bars.All the staff, from check in, to the blue coats went that extra mile to make our holiday an enjoyable expirience.Iwould also like to give a mention to the cleaning staff who also worked very hard in keeping all the venues,toilets and outside areas clean and pleasant.To sum up if you wish to take young children to a resort which is safe and fun you wont go far wrong visiting Haven Rockely Park.From my Wife my Grandson and myself thank you to all at Haven for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

went to rockley park first impressions not much difference from other sites visited !caravan pretty basic but was adequate for sleeping in you get what you pay for ! entertainment was aimed mostly at the kids ,very noisey same old tunes for kids not the place to go for a bit of culture ! swimming pools ok flumes not working !,,, more of splash pool than swimming,but ok .went for a nice walk in surrounding area very nice countryside shame about rain !we did go in off season been raining most of the year anyway?we was there for 4 days mon- fri 1st to the 5th oct would recommend this sort of short break wouldn't go there for a whole week though :::::: all in all had a good 4 days ,food in restaurant was nice and cheap and very edible !
this should not be seen as a negative review ,i think we just picked a bad week to go weather wise!all the staff was very positive and helpful will maybe go again in better weather if we ever get any in this country
r. l gale

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went to this holiday park with our granddaughter, the caravan wasn't what we expected a pile of cigarette butts under the steps as we walked in, then the mirrors were all filthy had to clean them. Don't think the bed had been changed from the previous occupants either. Not at all nice. Cleanyness not very good at all I didn't feel comfortable. My granddaughter enjoyed pool and the arcade that was about all, the food was ok if you don't mind waiting for ages and you like it cold. Overall not good when you pay £900 for a weeks holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hayward20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
4.4 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
4.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockley Park Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockley Park Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Rockley Park Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Hamworthy, Poole BH15 4LZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockley Park Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 1250
Also Known As:
Rockley Park Holiday Park Hotel Poole
Rockley Park Holiday Park - Haven Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing