We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RNLI College Discovery Tour
Save
Review Highlights
RNLI College Tour

Very interesting insight into how the RNLI works. The simulator was brilliant. The view from the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
SueHuxtable
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
A tour everyone should take

In my opinion this is a tour everyone should take. The RNLI are all volunteers - on call 24/7... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
VeraBurt
,
Poole, United Kingdom
Read all 219 reviews
  
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
199
17
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
17
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lifeboat simulator training facilities behind the scenes riggers restaurant great insight boat building a real eye opener slipway bar wave machine informative guide dover harbour gale force winds telling stories facts and figures lifeboat men first hand save lives
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very interesting insight into how the RNLI works. The simulator was brilliant. The view from the restaurant and bar is great.

Thank SueHuxtable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

In my opinion this is a tour everyone should take. The RNLI are all volunteers - on call 24/7 - a fantastic group of people - REAL UNSUNG HEROES.
BLESS THEM ALL.

Vera Mason

Thank VeraBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with friends, a great find in Poole. Use as a meeting place as easy to find, has car parking, really good facilities for elderly and disabled. Often find people are surprised to know it is open to public. I can pop in for breakfast, dinner or evening meal in the restaurant or the bar which does meals. The views across Holes Bay especially sunsets are restful. The chance to go on a tour around the College or the All Weather Lifeboat Centre really give an insight into the training of lifeboat personnel who give up their time to rescue people around the coast and inland via Flood Rescue.

Thank SaraK1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We thoroughly recommend doing this tour with Michael. He was professional, efficient and funny, entertaining and patient. We had no idea how much goes on behind the scenes and enjoyed every minute. The simulator was exciting.

Thank Adrienne43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNLI_Tours, Manager at RNLI College Discovery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

On behalf of the RNLI, I would like to thank you for supporting the RNLI Saving Lives at Sea and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Poole. You can also visit our world class centre of excellence in lifeboat engineering, production and maintenance, the All Weather Lifeboat Centre, situated next to the College. Tours take place twice a week Wednesday pm and Saturday am. Bookings can be made via our reception team on 0300 300 7654


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recommend this tour as it gives a great insight into the full expanse of RNLI activities and aims. The chance to try the simulator was an unexpected experience. The on site bar and restaurant also produced great food when we decided to stay for lunch.

1  Thank lin208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

The visit was fantastic and the guided tour was most informative and the group was informed of activities the they never knew the RNLI was involved in. An Excellent way to spend a forenoon.Rounded off with lovely food during the lunch period.

Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

You can make a complete day of it if you like - there is an excellent cafeteria and you can buy extension tickets to go into the workshops (rather than seeing them from a viewing area) in the evening. The guides are good. Do not go in the fantastic simulator if you are prone to sea sickness! Small gift shop. Parking is difficult and we found it somewhat problematic to find, through the one-way system. It is probably necessary to make a booking on line. bGood for sailors & non-sailors alike.

Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNLI_Tours, Manager at RNLI College Discovery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago


Thank you for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback following your recent tour of the RNLI Training College in Poole. I'm pleased to hear that we delivered over and above your expectations and shall be sure to share your lovely review with the team.

Bookings can be made through our reception team and we are always happy to help with directions or information on parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

A 90 minute tour of the training facility. Very interesting. Informative guide. 4 of the group were invited to crew the simulator- very realistic experience.

Thank jackiembullard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

We did the discovery tour this morning which we really enjoyed, we were escorted round by Chris, he did a great job, his knowledge of the RNLI was first class and answered all the questions asked by the group. The highlight of the tour for me was the simulator, I was lucky enough to take the helm it was a great experience, but think I need a bit more practice to keep the boat straight. After the tour we had lunch in the restaurant, I had the carvery which was lovely and so reasonable at £5.95. All in all a great few hours.

Thank b8ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

An interesting and informative 90 minute tour of the training centre ending with a rescue exercise in the RNLI training simulator. A good volunteer guide talked about the RNLI through the tour which was also supported by some DVD elements.
We also did the all weather lifeboat centre tour the next day where we got to see boats in construction/fitting out with an extremely knowledgeable and informative volunteer guide. A must do experience in Poole!

Thank Gone_Out_And_About
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RNLI_Tours, Manager at RNLI College Discovery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018


Thank you for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback following your recent tour of the RNLI Training College in Poole.

I'm pleased to hear that we delivered over and above your expectations and shall be sure to share your lovely review with the team.

On behalf of the RNLI, I would like to thank you for supporting the RNLI Saving Lives at Sea and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Poole.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews