We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Perfect cruising weather, boat and company

We booked on the spur of the moment, having checked the weather the day before, it was really... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Ellie C
,
Poole, United Kingdom
via mobile
Perfect Lazy Sunday

We had initially booked for a Sunday in August but the weather was so atrocious David allowed us to... read more

Reviewed September 26, 2018
Richard B
via mobile
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
42
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hen party beautiful boat jurassic coast interesting facts brownsea island poole harbour old harry rocks hens cruised skipper moored company yacht sights cruisers rib fab
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked on the spur of the moment, having checked the weather the day before, it was really simple to do and David was very easy to contact.

We had the best October day, perfect conditions for being out on a boat. We all loved it and wouldn’t hesitate to book again. A great way to see the beautiful Jurassic coast and Poole Harbour. David was welcoming and friendly but left us to enjoy our trip, coming to check on us to give us some interesting facts about the amazing coastline. Highly recommend.

Thank Ellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

We had initially booked for a Sunday in August but the weather was so atrocious David allowed us to rearrange for a date in September which we appreciated.

On the day we had a mixed family group from 8 to 80 and someone pregnant and David was able to tailor the trip to a nice sedate pace. I suspect if you have a younger group you can open the throttle a bit more.

The boat is a good size and if the weather’s good you can fit 11 on the flybridge if you don’t mind a bit of a squeeze. We opted for a 5 hour charter which didn’t feel rushed and allowed a nice amount of time for a picnic moored in a picturesque bay.

I’ve done various rib, yacht and motor cruiser Charters previously and what was unique with this one is David controlled the boat from the main cabin leaving the flybridge to us. While David and other skippers have all been very nice it is good to have some space for your group.

Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic time on board castaway charters. David was friendly and helpful and knew all the best places for swimming and views etc. The boat is lovely and we all had an unforgettable day. Thanks!

Thank kwatson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Castaway Charters was the perfect way to spend time with friends whilst watching the Summer Fireworks. David was a fantastic host, we could not fault him! I would definitely recommend this boat charter and shall certainly use him again! Thank you!!

Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing day on this beautiful boat with a very knowledgeable local skipper exploring Poole stunning. We would highly recommend this experience.

1  Thank Beate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018

We booked Castaway Charters for a team building away day for a group of ten. David was so welcoming and made us feel really at home, as well as being super helpful throughout. The boat was absolutely perfect, what a luxury. I cannot recommend this highly enough.

1  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

We had an absolutely brilliant time on David’s boat! We were a group of 16 hens and the boat was a capacity of 12 so David suggested we hired a speed boat/rib type boat (which he sorted for us). Both boats were fantastic and it was nice that we could switch from one to another between us all and see the sights of Poole which is beautiful. I would highly recommend castaway charters to anyone.
Thanks again David
Emma and the girls from Beth’s hen party

1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaway C, Owner at Castaway Charters, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018
Google Translation

emma glad you enjoyed!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2018

I cannot express enough what a truly unforgettable day we had with Castaway Charters last August. It was just perfect, and a day I will remember for a very long time. David the captain was charming, a delight to be at the helm of such a beautiful boat. The boat didn’t disappoint, it was spacious and had every amenity. David took us out for the day around Old Harry Rocks, Studland Bay and then came back to have a delicious lunch around Green and Brownsea Island. The sun was shining and I could have easily been in the South of France, the day was nothing short of perfection. A huge thank to Castaway Charters and to David who made the whole experience seamless.

3  Thank NdG1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

We had the most wonderful day on this beautiful boat& a huge Thank you to David the captain a lovely gentleman.Every facility we needed and more .David took us to a less strong current so we could swim off the back of the boat ....awesome swimming in the sea in the U.K ! It was the most perfect weather too.
Frankie & all us hens had an absolutely fabulous day .Would defo recommend & would love to do it all again
Diane Lock

Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile

My wife organised this trip for me plus family & friends. David was an excellent host/skipper and I had almost 3 hours of fabulous views shared with my loved ones. We started in the harbour area and were treated to a close up of the " Sunseeker" boat yard; followed by a quick visit to Brownsea Island en route to the Jurassic coast.
We sailed past the ferry at Sandbanks with a view of Studland and then cruised to Old Harry Rocks. David got us close enough to take some great photos and then we cruised to moor just off of Middle Beach at Studland.
We were blessed with good weather for the whole trip but the boat is equipped for all situations. David was informative and interesting but also allowed us to enjoy the time and drink some bubbly which we brought with us.
David had arranged with my wife to let me have a go at steering the boat under his supervision and we were treated to the full power of the engines - very exhilarating!!
All in all a fantastic experience which I would recommend to anyone. We felt safe under the experienced hands of David whist enjoying a trip I shall remember for many years to come.

Thank Stevenewt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Castaway Charters, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Really glad you enjoyed the trip it gives me great pleasure to see smiley faces!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews