We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have stayed at Saltern's a number of times and always had a great experience. If you can get a room with a view all the better, but all the rooms we have stayed in have been clean, fresh, and very comfortable.

The breakfasts have always been delicious and the luncheons in the bar area very tasty. In the summer it's a treat to sit outside by the water. The staff are friendly and we can recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a view of the water
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albinoni900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Salterns Harbourside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 310 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Hotel is located on the harbour side however on a rainy October day you may as well be at Grimsby fish docks
The Hotel may have seen better days however I doubt it and over the years it have been allowed to deteriorate somewhat
My room overlooked the harbour which on a sunny day might have been a bonus. The room was comfortable but unexceptional. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet thankfully as I am a very light sleeper.
I decided to eat in but was somewhat disappointed by the food menu, nevertheless my meal was OK and cheapish

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in November. Our room was very nice, with an amazing view over the harbour, although the decor could do with an upgrade the room was very clean, and we did appreciate there being fresh bottled water supplied every day. The bathroom had shower gels & lotions which was a nice touch.
The only downside is the lack of soundproofing in the bedrooms, as we were kept awake until 2.30am on 2 of the nights with talking from either next door or underneath us, it was very difficult to tell. I did note this on the hotel guest report which was left in the room to be collected.

Breakfasts were served in the bistro, and there was continental & full english as well as scrambled eggs etc. In the evening we preferred to eat in the bar area as the bistro seemed too quiet. The food was very good, and plenty of it.
We really liked being able to leave our car in the hotel car park and walk to the end of the road to catch a bus to Poole, Sandbanks or Bournemouth. The bus ride to Poole is only 13 minutes and to Sandbanks 11 minutes. There is also an open top bus which you can catch in Sandbanks which takes you across on the ferry to Swanage where you can catch another bus to Poole going through lovely little villages like Corfe Castle. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. All in all we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a full sea view, and watch the ferries to France come & go!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anya6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Really nice place to eat, would love this place in the summer, gorgeous views. After eating in both the restaurant and the bar area I would prefer to sit in the bar area. (There are proper tables and chairs) it just feels a lot more welcoming sitting in there. Reasonably priced for lovely food :)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

As in recent reviews we visited the hotel for the living social deal which was advertised as fillet steak and chips, which sounded very nice, in actual fact it was,
it was the size that was a let down,it was just not enough, the steak was tiny with
only a few chips and small side salad,( I personally think they do this on purpose
so you also have to buy their sweet ) with the deal it was not too bad but if you had paid full price im sure you would of been well upset ..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khhendy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We visited this hotel to eat in their restaurant on a deal purchased via Living Social. We are local people and have never been to this venue before so we thought we would give it a try. You would think that if they were marketing themselves on Living Social they would pull out all the stops to really wow the customer so they would spread positive words locally and recommend the venue. They didn't. They offered a steak meal for 4 stating an £84 value. The steak was about 6oz max. accompanied by a tiny side salad of mainly watercress and a tiny bucket of chips containing about 20 chips for two! yes two people! We had to order another couple of portions of chips. When these came they were massive! enough for eight. They didn't mention this when ordering as we were expecting two more tiny buckets. The value of the meal offered on the deal was in my opinion less than we paid. We did have a couple of bottles of wine which were very nice and we ordered starters. For starters the sardines were nice but the fishcake was mainly tasteless potato. It is a shame they did not really try and pull out all the stops for our first visit because if they had invested in us as customers they would have got their money back. However we will not be returning (even if a deal was offered) and we will be telling our quite substantial circle of friends not to either. How shortsighted of this business.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drivers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Lovely place on the waterfront. Great for wedding fotos. The food is average and so is the service. Rooms somewhat out dated and could really be perked up a bit. The carpeting could also do a makeover. Lots of kids, so it seems to be a family hotel and restaurant. Ok for short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapleleaves49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
935 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,755 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.6 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,503 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salterns Harbourside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salterns Harbourside Hotel

Address: 38 Salterns Way | Lilliput, Poole BH14 8JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range: $127 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salterns Harbourside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salterns Harbourside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salterns Harbourside Poole
Hotel Salterns Harbourside
Salterns Harbourside Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing